chiark / gitweb /
dgit-user(7): Provide information about how to use sbuild
authorIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Sun, 16 Jul 2017 17:27:16 +0000 (18:27 +0100)
committerIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Tue, 18 Jul 2017 20:38:10 +0000 (21:38 +0100)
Quite ugly due to #868527.  Closes:#868526.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
debian/changelog
dgit-user.7.pod

index 02b3598..e2c37a2 100644 (file)
@@ -1,6 +1,8 @@
 dgit (4.1~) experimental; urgency=medium
 
   Documentation:
+  * dgit-user(7): Provide information about how to use sbuild.
+    Quite ugly due to #868527.  Closes:#868526.
   * dgit-user(7): Fixed example rune to use curl (which prints
     to stdout, as the rune expects).  [reported by Simon Tatham]
 
index 51a1fa3..c33cf30 100644 (file)
@@ -303,6 +303,26 @@ C<-uc> means not to pgp-sign the results.
 C<-b> means build all binary packages,
 but not to build a source package.
 
+=head2 Using sbuild
+
+You can build in an schroot chroot, with sbuild, instead of in your
+main environment.  (sbuild is used by the Debian build daemons.)
+
+=over 4
+
+    % git clean -xdf
+    % sbuild -c jessie -A --no-clean-source \
+             --dpkg-source-opts='-Zgzip -z1 --format=1.0 -sn'
+
+=back
+
+Note that this will seem to leave a "source package"
+(.dsc and .tar.gz)
+in the parent directory,
+but that source package should not be used.
+It is likely to be broken.
+For more information see Debian bug #868527.
+
 =head1 INSTALLING
 
 =head2 Debian Jessie or older