chiark / gitweb /
xf86-input-mtrack.git
2 years agodebian/changelog: finalise 0.3.1-1+iwj3 export.stretch master
Ian Jackson [Tue, 26 Apr 2016 20:06:40 +0000 (21:06 +0100)]
debian/changelog: finalise 0.3.1-1+iwj3

2 years agoSensitivity: Handle sensitivities < 1.0 without rounding errors
Ian Jackson [Sun, 24 Apr 2016 01:36:01 +0000 (02:36 +0100)]
Sensitivity: Handle sensitivities < 1.0 without rounding errors

Background: We tell the xf86 core that our x and y ranges are the
overall range of the trackpad.  The xf86 core scales the supplied
values in the same way for relative and absolute pointers.  The result
is that at sensitivity 1.0, the scale of the whole trackpad
corresponds to the scale of the whole screen (so for example moving
the pointer from the very LHS to the very RHS of the screen can be
achieved by moving a finger from the very LHS to the very RHS of the
trackpad).

On some modern machines the resolution of the screen is much higher
than the resolution of the trackpad.  When this occurs, due to
rounding error, it can be impossible to reach the bottom and right
edges of the screen.  This is because even a 1-unit movement on the
trackpad is multipled by a >1-pixel pointer movement, and pointer
movements which would take the pointer off the screen are ignored.
(Arguably this is some kind of bug.)  In any case the user will
probably want to be able to control the pointer position with 1-pixel
accuracy.

This requires mtrack to specify a higher resolution.  Otherwise, the
fact that the values provided by mtrack to xf86 are integers means
that attempts to set the sensitivity to values < 1.0 are not properly
effective - resulting in "lumpy" response.

Fix this as follows:

 * Split sensitivity_val into sensitivity_big and _smalldiv,
   both >= 1.0, such that sensitivity_big/sensitivity_smalldiv is the
   specified sensitivity.

 * Multiply the size we tell xf86 by sensitivity_smalldiv.

As a result, when sensitivity is < 1.0, instead of scaling down
motions (resulting in unwanted rounding), we scale up the nominal size
(resulting in a lower scaling factor being applied by xf86).

When the sensitivity is > 1.0, everything behaves as before.

There is no change to the visible configuration.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
2 years agoSensitivity: Introduce mconfig_get_sensitivity and _set_
Ian Jackson [Sun, 24 Apr 2016 01:26:27 +0000 (02:26 +0100)]
Sensitivity: Introduce mconfig_get_sensitivity and _set_

In a moment, we are going to make the in-use representation of the
sensitivity more complicated.  We will need accessor methods for use
by the configuration machinery.

Provide these accessor methods now, to reduce noise in the substantive
patch.  For now they just access the single double.

Rename the variable so that we catch all of the references.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
2 years agodebian/changelog: Start work on sensitivity
Ian Jackson [Sun, 24 Apr 2016 01:43:54 +0000 (02:43 +0100)]
debian/changelog: Start work on sensitivity

2 years agodebian/changelog: finalise 0.3.1-1+iwj2
Ian Jackson [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 22:28:31 +0000 (23:28 +0100)]
debian/changelog: finalise 0.3.1-1+iwj2

2 years agoOffsets: Use ymin value for bottom edge features
Ian Jackson [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 22:20:29 +0000 (23:20 +0100)]
Offsets: Use ymin value for bottom edge features

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
2 years agoOffsets: Use xmin offset for button zones
Ian Jackson [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 22:20:15 +0000 (23:20 +0100)]
Offsets: Use xmin offset for button zones

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
2 years agoOffsets: In button zone code, cope with negative "pos" values
Ian Jackson [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 22:19:21 +0000 (23:19 +0100)]
Offsets: In button zone code, cope with negative "pos" values

Coordinates might be negative, so we need a separate boolean rather
than using -1 as a sentinel.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
2 years agoOffsets: Introduce cfg->pad_xmin and ymin, and cap_get_xmin, ymin
Ian Jackson [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 22:17:51 +0000 (23:17 +0100)]
Offsets: Introduce cfg->pad_xmin and ymin, and cap_get_xmin, ymin

These are going to be needed to cope properly with pads whose origins
are not at (0,0).

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
2 years agodebian/changelog: finalise 0.3.1-1+iwj1
Ian Jackson [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 20:35:32 +0000 (21:35 +0100)]
debian/changelog: finalise 0.3.1-1+iwj1

2 years agoButton zones: Export bottom_edge_zones in MTRACK_PROP_BUTTON_EMULATE_SETTINGS
Ian Jackson [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 19:26:53 +0000 (20:26 +0100)]
Button zones: Export bottom_edge_zones in MTRACK_PROP_BUTTON_EMULATE_SETTINGS

For backward compatibility this property can now be either 3 or 4
items.  When we generate it, we generate 4 items, but we accept
setting only 3 items.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
2 years agoButton zones: Provide BottomEdgeZonesEnable
Ian Jackson [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 19:18:53 +0000 (20:18 +0100)]
Button zones: Provide BottomEdgeZonesEnable

Many modern laptops have a clickpad, with some faint legend on the
surface suggesting that the bottom portion is a pair (usually) of
buttons.

Some users who are used to laptops which had separate physical buttons
below the trackpad have developed the habit of putting one finger on
the physical button, and using another finger to mouse.

This user behaviour can be supported if we:
 - ignore touches in the "button" area for all purposes, except
 - decide which button was pressed, if the user clicks the clickpad,
   by looking at which touch(es) are present in the button area

This is a novel combination of the behaviours of the BottomEdge and
ButtonZones options.  Provide a new BottomEdgeZonesEnable option,
(including documentation and static configuration).

The current code does not support users who have a habit of generating
and using chorded button events on mice with physical buttons.  (That
is, users who have configured application(s) to process simultaneous
clicks of different buttons meaningfully differently to single-button
clicks.)  I think this should be regarded as a bug in the
implementation I am introducing in this patch.  Fixing this would be
feasible without new config options or changes to other semantics but
would involve more rework of the zone processing in gestures.c than I
currently have time for.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
2 years agoButton zones: Refactor, preparatory to BottomEdgeZones
Ian Jackson [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 18:51:48 +0000 (19:51 +0100)]
Button zones: Refactor, preparatory to BottomEdgeZones

I intend to add a new feature BottomEdgeZones which reuses the Zone
machinery, but is going to use a different source for the effective X
coordinate which selects the zone.

Break out the computation of `pos'.  pos==-1 means the zone feature is
not in use or not applicable to the event.

No functional change in this commit.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
2 years agoButton zones: Remove inexplicable pad_with/2 offset
Ian Jackson [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 18:27:28 +0000 (19:27 +0100)]
Button zones: Remove inexplicable pad_with/2 offset

When button zones are in use, the code attempts to calculate which
zone the finger is in.  The left and right edges of the zones are
calculated according the nths of pad_width, where n is the number of
zones.

These left and right sides are compared with `pos', and the zone is
the one where left<=pos<=right.

This would all be correct if pos were the touch's x coordinate.
However, inexplicably, it isn't: it has had pad_width/2 added.

The git history does not reveal an explanation for adding pad_width/2.
Removing it makes the button zones work.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
2 years agoDebugging: Print each touch's state bitmask in mtstate_output
Ian Jackson [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 19:54:49 +0000 (20:54 +0100)]
Debugging: Print each touch's state bitmask in mtstate_output

The user is expected to decode the hex (with reference to the bit
numbers defined in mtstate.h).

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
2 years agocommon.h: bitmaps: Provide PRBITMASK
Ian Jackson [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 19:52:50 +0000 (20:52 +0100)]
common.h: bitmaps: Provide PRBITMASK

This is a printf format specifier, a la PRIx32 et al.  This avoids us
having to write %#x explicitly, which would be annoying if bitmask_t
ever changed its type.

No use sites introduced in this commit, so no functional change yet.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
2 years agomtrack-test.c: include <unistd.h>
Ian Jackson [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 19:31:28 +0000 (20:31 +0100)]
mtrack-test.c: include <unistd.h>

Otherwise we get an implicit declaration warning about close().

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
2 years agocommon.h: Add missing include of <mtdev-plumbing.h>
Ian Jackson [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 19:30:24 +0000 (20:30 +0100)]
common.h: Add missing include of <mtdev-plumbing.h>

Otherwise we get an implicit declaration warning about mtdev_empty.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
2 years agoAbolish uses of %+d
Ian Jackson [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 17:23:36 +0000 (18:23 +0100)]
Abolish uses of %+d

(EE) BUG: triggered 'if (f[f_idx])'
(EE) BUG: ../../os/log.c:565 in vpnprintf()
(EE) Unsupported printf directive '+'

2 years agoDEBIAN/.GITIGNORE
Ian Jackson [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 17:21:08 +0000 (18:21 +0100)]
DEBIAN/.GITIGNORE

2 years agoDH_AUTORECONF
Ian Jackson [Sat, 23 Apr 2016 20:20:56 +0000 (21:20 +0100)]
DH_AUTORECONF

2 years ago.gitignore: Add *~
Ian Jackson [Tue, 26 Apr 2016 19:40:04 +0000 (20:40 +0100)]
.gitignore: Add *~

In particular, although emacs generally doesn't generate ~ backup
files when working in a git tree, autoreconf does generate
config.h.in~, which should be ignored.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
3 years agoxf86-input-mtrack (0.3.1-1) unstable; urgency=medium
Nobuhiro Iwamatsu [Tue, 2 Jun 2015 05:04:28 +0000 (06:04 +0100)]
xf86-input-mtrack (0.3.1-1) unstable; urgency=medium

  * Upload to unstable.
  * Fix debian/copyright format.

# imported from the archive