chiark / gitweb /
logging: reduce send timeout to something more sensible
authorZbigniew Jędrzejewski-Szmek <zbyszek@in.waw.pl>
Sat, 14 Dec 2013 16:54:26 +0000 (11:54 -0500)
committerZbigniew Jędrzejewski-Szmek <zbyszek@in.waw.pl>
Sat, 21 Dec 2013 03:47:26 +0000 (22:47 -0500)
For a user, the timeout of 1 min per message seems equivalent to a hang.
If journald cannot process a message from PID1 for 10 ms then something
is significantly wrong. It's better to lose the message and continue.

src/shared/log.c
src/shared/time-util.c

index b5b82f6..268f034 100644 (file)
@@ -126,7 +126,10 @@ static int create_log_socket(int type) {
         /* We need a blocking fd here since we'd otherwise lose
         messages way too early. However, let's not hang forever in the
         unlikely case of a deadlock. */
-        timeval_store(&tv, 1*USEC_PER_MINUTE);
+        if (getpid() == 1)
+                timeval_store(&tv, 10 * USEC_PER_MSEC);
+        else
+                timeval_store(&tv, 10 * USEC_PER_SEC);
         setsockopt(fd, SOL_SOCKET, SO_SNDTIMEO, &tv, sizeof(tv));
 
         return fd;
index 678fd58..faa3418 100644 (file)
@@ -142,12 +142,11 @@ struct timeval *timeval_store(struct timeval *tv, usec_t u) {
         if (u == (usec_t) -1) {
                 tv->tv_sec = (time_t) -1;
                 tv->tv_usec = (suseconds_t) -1;
-                return tv;
+        } else {
+                tv->tv_sec = (time_t) (u / USEC_PER_SEC);
+                tv->tv_usec = (suseconds_t) (u % USEC_PER_SEC);
         }
 
-        tv->tv_sec = (time_t) (u / USEC_PER_SEC);
-        tv->tv_usec = (suseconds_t) (u % USEC_PER_SEC);
-
         return tv;
 }