chiark / gitweb /
build: add -Wno-format-signedness
authorDavid Herrmann <dh.herrmann@gmail.com>
Tue, 24 Feb 2015 14:59:06 +0000 (15:59 +0100)
committerDavid Herrmann <dh.herrmann@gmail.com>
Tue, 24 Feb 2015 15:02:32 +0000 (16:02 +0100)
gcc5 introduced this option (gcc4 silently ignores it, which is fine).
Given that gcc5 thinks 'unsigned char'/'unsigned short' is promoted to
'int' for var-args, stuff like this spits out warnings:
    uint8_t x;
    printf("%" PRIu8", x);

gcc5 promots 'x' to 'int', instead of 'unsigned int' and thus gets a
signedness-warnings as it expects an 'unsigned int'.

glibc states otherwise: unsigneds are always promoted to 'unsigned int'.
Until gcc and glibc figure this out, lets just ignore that warning (which
is totally useless in its current form).

configure.ac

index 9a2235b..22a6f17 100644 (file)
@@ -186,6 +186,7 @@ CC_CHECK_FLAGS_APPEND([with_cflags], [CFLAGS], [\
         -Wno-unused-parameter \
         -Wno-missing-field-initializers \
         -Wno-unused-result \
+        -Wno-format-signedness \
         -Werror=overflow \
         -Wdate-time \
         -Wnested-externs \