chiark / gitweb /
dgit-maint-merge(7): Move remarks on upstream orig
authorSean Whitton <spwhitton@spwhitton.name>
Thu, 20 Oct 2016 02:52:18 +0000 (19:52 -0700)
committerIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Thu, 20 Oct 2016 19:07:36 +0000 (20:07 +0100)
See discussion in #840153.

Signed-off-by: Sean Whitton <spwhitton@spwhitton.name>
dgit-maint-merge.7.pod

index 642b39e..2900492 100644 (file)
@@ -52,16 +52,6 @@ compress orig tarballs:
 
 =head1 INITIAL DEBIANISATION
 
-=head2 When upstream tags releases in git and releases identical tarballs
-
-Ideally upstream would make git tags, and tarball releases, which are
-completely identical to each other.  If this is the case then you can
-use the upstream tarballs directly.
-
-If you're not sure, use the procedure below under "When upstream
-releases only tarballs" only with a different upstream tag name.  Then
-use git diff to check that there are no differences.
-
 =head2 When upstream tags releases in git
 
 Suppose that the latest stable upstream release is 1.2.2, and this has
@@ -116,6 +106,23 @@ with 'gz'.
 This tarball is ephemeral and easily regenerated, so we don't commit
 it anywhere (e.g. with tools like pristine-tar(1)).
 
+=head3 Verifying upstream's tarball releases
+
+=over 4
+
+It can be a good idea to compare upstream's released tarballs with the
+release tags, at least for the first upload of the package.  If they
+are different, you might need to add some additional steps to your
+I<debian/rules>, such as running autotools.
+
+A convenient way to perform this check is to import the tarball as
+described in the following section, using a different value for
+'upstream-tag', and then use git-diff(1) to compare the imported
+tarball to the release tag.  If they are the same, you can use
+upstream's tarball instead of running git-archive(1).
+
+=back
+
 =head2 When upstream releases only tarballs
 
 We need a virtual upstream branch with virtual release tags.