chiark / gitweb /
git-debrebase: new-upstream: Fix error message for new version with bad syntax
authorIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Tue, 31 Jul 2018 08:09:35 +0000 (09:09 +0100)
committerIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Tue, 31 Jul 2018 08:11:10 +0000 (09:11 +0100)
Calling
  new Dpkg::Version , check => 1
does not die or anything if it's wrong; it just returns undef.

The result is an error message about calling is_valid on an undefined
value.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
debian/changelog
git-debrebase

index 9d22bed..be2d349 100644 (file)
@@ -2,6 +2,8 @@ dgit (6.3~) unstable; urgency=medium
 
   * git-debrebase: breakwater: Fix error message for unprocessable
     commits.  Closes:#905003.
+  * git-debrebase: new-upstream: Fix error message for new version
+    with bad syntax.
 
  --
 
index 8385ae4..3449ec3 100755 (executable)
@@ -1173,6 +1173,7 @@ sub cmd_new_upstream () {
     # parse args - low commitment
     my $spec_version = shift @ARGV;
     my $new_version = (new Dpkg::Version $spec_version, check => 1);
+    fail "bad version number \`$spec_version'" unless defined $new_version;
     if ($new_version->is_native()) {
        $new_version = (new Dpkg::Version "$spec_version-1", check => 1);
     }