chiark / gitweb /
udevd: avoid implicit memset in match_attr()
authorAlan Jenkins <alan-jenkins@tuffmail.co.uk>
Sat, 25 Oct 2008 14:51:19 +0000 (15:51 +0100)
committerKay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org>
Sun, 26 Oct 2008 01:11:56 +0000 (02:11 +0100)
Initializing a char array to "" is equivalent to a memset()
call - which is exactly what it gets compiled to.

Fixing this one callsite reduced memset() _user_ cpu cycles
from 2-4% to 0.05% on the EeePC.

Signed-off-by: Alan Jenkins <alan-jenkins@tuffmail.co.uk>
udev/udev-rules.c

index 4df9eb3..44b2690 100644 (file)
@@ -1794,10 +1794,11 @@ static int match_attr(struct udev_rules *rules, struct udev_device *dev, struct
        char attr[UTIL_PATH_SIZE];
        const char *key_name = &rules->buf[cur->key.attr_off];
        const char *key_value = &rules->buf[cur->key.value_off];
-       char value[UTIL_NAME_SIZE] = "";
+       char value[UTIL_NAME_SIZE];
        size_t len;
 
        util_strlcpy(attr, key_name, sizeof(attr));
+       util_strlcpy(value, "", sizeof(value));
        util_resolve_subsys_kernel(event->udev, attr, value, sizeof(value), 1);
        if (value[0] == '\0') {
                const char *val;