chiark / gitweb /
git-debrebase(5): Warn against renaming branch while unstitched
authorIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Fri, 24 Aug 2018 20:42:59 +0000 (21:42 +0100)
committerIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Fri, 24 Aug 2018 20:43:16 +0000 (21:43 +0100)
Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
git-debrebase.5.pod

index 751529e..f641a70 100644 (file)
@@ -527,6 +527,21 @@ If you add patches your work is likely to be discarded.
 Instead of editing patches,
 use git-debrebase to edit the corresponding commits.
 
 Instead of editing patches,
 use git-debrebase to edit the corresponding commits.
 
+=item Renaming (etc.) branch while unstitched
+
+The previous HEAD,
+which will be pseudomerged over
+by operations like git-debrebase stitch,
+is recorded in a ref name dervied from your branch name.
+
+If you rename unstitched branches,
+this information can get out of step.
+
+Conversely,
+creating a new branch from an unstitched branch
+is good for making a branch to play about in,
+but the result cannot be stitched.
+
 =back
 
 =head1 COMMIT MESSAGE ANNOTATIONS
 =back
 
 =head1 COMMIT MESSAGE ANNOTATIONS