chiark / gitweb /
dgit-user(7): Suggest sbuild-debian-developer-setup(1)
authorSean Whitton <spwhitton@spwhitton.name>
Thu, 21 Jun 2018 12:27:41 +0000 (13:27 +0100)
committerIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Thu, 21 Jun 2018 13:14:39 +0000 (14:14 +0100)
This will only create the chroot for building packages for the
machine's architecture, because sbuild-debian-developer-setup(1) does
not have an --architecture option, so sbuild-createchroot(1) will be
needed too, hence the 'and'.

The nice thing about sbuild-debian-developer-setup(1) is that does
fiddly things that a non-expert might forget about, like adding the
current user to the sbuild group.  So it is still worth recommending
even though it does not have an --architecture option.

Closes:#895779.

Signed-off-by: Sean Whitton <spwhitton@spwhitton.name>
debian/changelog
dgit-user.7.pod

index df25a84..2bd9883 100644 (file)
@@ -3,6 +3,8 @@ dgit (5.2~) unstable; urgency=medium
   * dgit(1): Mention under `dgit build' that it uses the network.
   * dgit(1): Clarify that --overwrite does nothing if not needed.
     Closes:#863578.
+  * dgit-user(7): Recommend sbuild-debian-developer-setup.
+    [ Sean Whitton. ]  Closes:895779.
 
   dgit:
   * When all Debian changes vanish with single-debian-patch,
index c74396a..5713064 100644 (file)
@@ -367,8 +367,9 @@ have enabled.
 You'll need a chroot for each of the secondary architectures.
 This is somewhat tiresome,
 even though Debian has excellent tools for managing chroots.
-C<sbuild-createchroot> from the sbuild package is a
-good starting point.
+C<sbuild-debian-developer-setup> from the package of the same name
+and C<sbuild-createchroot> from the C<sbuild> package are
+good starting points.
 
 Otherwise you could deinstall the packages of interest
 for those other architectures