chiark / gitweb /
vbig.git
4 years agoSupport feeble FreeBSD versions of dd and truncate in tests master
Richard Kettlewell [Fri, 30 May 2014 14:43:28 +0000 (15:43 +0100)]
Support feeble FreeBSD versions of dd and truncate in tests

4 years agoAdjust error strings in test to match OS variations
Richard Kettlewell [Fri, 30 May 2014 14:42:48 +0000 (15:42 +0100)]
Adjust error strings in test to match OS variations

4 years agoUpdate copyright notices
Richard Kettlewell [Sat, 24 May 2014 14:28:41 +0000 (15:28 +0100)]
Update copyright notices

4 years agoMan page typo fixes
Richard Kettlewell [Sat, 24 May 2014 14:28:20 +0000 (15:28 +0100)]
Man page typo fixes

4 years agoStricter argument checking.
Richard Kettlewell [Sat, 24 May 2014 14:24:22 +0000 (15:24 +0100)]
Stricter argument checking.

4 years agoBackport tests to Debian wheezy
Richard Kettlewell [Sat, 24 May 2014 14:03:28 +0000 (15:03 +0100)]
Backport tests to Debian wheezy

Change-Id: I3825a22ea000c94b37aa8bf3b71a49a1065e34b0

4 years agoAdd some tests.
Richard Kettlewell [Sat, 24 May 2014 14:00:42 +0000 (15:00 +0100)]
Add some tests.

4 years agoUse shifts rather than multiplies to scale up size requests.
Richard Kettlewell [Sat, 24 May 2014 14:00:30 +0000 (15:00 +0100)]
Use shifts rather than multiplies to scale up size requests.

4 years agoMore consistent diagnostics.
Richard Kettlewell [Sat, 24 May 2014 14:00:05 +0000 (15:00 +0100)]
More consistent diagnostics.

4 years agomore appropriate data types for rc4 implementation
Richard Kettlewell [Sat, 24 May 2014 13:59:48 +0000 (14:59 +0100)]
more appropriate data types for rc4 implementation

5 years agoAdd some comments.
Richard Kettlewell [Sat, 29 Mar 2014 19:28:57 +0000 (19:28 +0000)]
Add some comments.

Change-Id: Ie2047135ae8ff831c216a6e381829f5f9332fc88

5 years agoFurther man page typo fix.
Richard Kettlewell [Sat, 22 Feb 2014 09:12:51 +0000 (09:12 +0000)]
Further man page typo fix.

5 years agoTypo fixes to man page.
Richard Kettlewell [Sat, 22 Feb 2014 09:11:11 +0000 (09:11 +0000)]
Typo fixes to man page.

5 years agoChattier description for Debian package
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 12 Jan 2014 19:41:41 +0000 (19:41 +0000)]
Chattier description for Debian package

5 years agoFix GPL pointer in debian copyright file
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 12 Jan 2014 19:41:30 +0000 (19:41 +0000)]
Fix GPL pointer in debian copyright file

5 years agoTypo fix.
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 12 Jan 2014 19:37:31 +0000 (19:37 +0000)]
Typo fix.

5 years agoBuild fix for FreeBSD
Richard Kettlewell [Thu, 31 Oct 2013 21:46:22 +0000 (21:46 +0000)]
Build fix for FreeBSD

5 years agoUpdate copyright messages to reflect changes this year
Richard Kettlewell [Fri, 9 Aug 2013 15:16:04 +0000 (16:16 +0100)]
Update copyright messages to reflect changes this year

5 years agoDebianize. Release 0.3.
Richard Kettlewell [Fri, 9 Aug 2013 14:52:42 +0000 (15:52 +0100)]
Debianize.  Release 0.3.

5 years agoAdd hyphens in man page to placate lintian.
Richard Kettlewell [Fri, 9 Aug 2013 14:50:40 +0000 (15:50 +0100)]
Add hyphens in man page to placate lintian.

5 years agoREADME -> README.md
Richard Kettlewell [Fri, 9 Aug 2013 14:45:01 +0000 (15:45 +0100)]
README -> README.md

5 years agoRemove autogen.sh; use autoreconf -is instead.
Richard Kettlewell [Fri, 9 Aug 2013 14:42:45 +0000 (15:42 +0100)]
Remove autogen.sh; use autoreconf -is instead.

6 years agodir-locals.el
Richard Kettlewell [Thu, 21 Feb 2013 19:58:28 +0000 (19:58 +0000)]
dir-locals.el

6 years agoMan page typo.
Richard Kettlewell [Thu, 21 Feb 2013 19:50:33 +0000 (19:50 +0000)]
Man page typo.

6 years agoFix printf field width types
Richard Kettlewell [Thu, 21 Feb 2013 19:50:00 +0000 (19:50 +0000)]
Fix printf field width types

6 years agoUpdate usage message.
Richard Kettlewell [Thu, 21 Feb 2013 19:48:51 +0000 (19:48 +0000)]
Update usage message.

6 years agoNew --progress option
Ian Jackson [Thu, 21 Feb 2013 18:35:54 +0000 (18:35 +0000)]
New --progress option

This saves on boredom.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
6 years agoManpage: add some usage hints
Ian Jackson [Thu, 21 Feb 2013 17:53:39 +0000 (17:53 +0000)]
Manpage: add some usage hints

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
6 years agoUse /dev/urandom (or corresponding file) by default in --both mode
Ian Jackson [Thu, 21 Feb 2013 16:24:10 +0000 (16:24 +0000)]
Use /dev/urandom (or corresponding file) by default in --both mode

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
6 years agoUsage message: fix alignment
Ian Jackson [Thu, 21 Feb 2013 17:12:03 +0000 (17:12 +0000)]
Usage message: fix alignment

Whitespace change, in usage message, only.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
6 years agoSupport --seed-file (and --seed-length)
Ian Jackson [Thu, 21 Feb 2013 16:23:12 +0000 (16:23 +0000)]
Support --seed-file (and --seed-length)

This allows us to read the seed from a file (which might be
/dev/*random or simply a file with key material).

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
6 years agoMove default seed setting to main().
Ian Jackson [Thu, 21 Feb 2013 16:14:52 +0000 (16:14 +0000)]
Move default seed setting to main().

This will make it easier to change later and will simplify the seed
file option parsing which is to come.

No functional change.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
6 years agoTurn "seed" from a string to a byte block.
Ian Jackson [Thu, 21 Feb 2013 15:56:19 +0000 (15:56 +0000)]
Turn "seed" from a string to a byte block.

This will make it easier to read seeds from [u]random in the next change.
No functional change.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
6 years agoUse RC4-drop, not RC4
Ian Jackson [Thu, 21 Feb 2013 15:49:53 +0000 (15:49 +0000)]
Use RC4-drop, not RC4

RC4 is broken and is vulnerable to key recovery attacks.
See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RC4#Security

Dropping the first 3072 bytes of the stream makes one of these attacks
harder.  This doesn't fix the problems with using RC4 but it is an
improvement.

These problems are probably theoretical right now because plausible
contemporary threat models don't seem to involve the fake flash drive
trying serious cryptanalysis on our datastream.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
6 years agoMake --both the default
Ian Jackson [Thu, 21 Feb 2013 15:46:00 +0000 (15:46 +0000)]
Make --both the default

This does away with the NONE mode and the corresponding usage error.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
6 years agoNew mode --both (-b), which does create then verify
Ian Jackson [Thu, 21 Feb 2013 15:44:49 +0000 (15:44 +0000)]
New mode --both (-b), which does create then verify

This implies --entire unless a size is specified.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
6 years agoNew --entire option
Ian Jackson [Thu, 21 Feb 2013 16:46:23 +0000 (16:46 +0000)]
New --entire option

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
6 years agoBreak out function "execute"
Ian Jackson [Thu, 21 Feb 2013 15:41:51 +0000 (15:41 +0000)]
Break out function "execute"

Code motion and incidental changes:
 - Make the 2nd half of main into its own function
 - Make most of the arg variables have file scope and static duration

No functional change.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
7 years agoMake SIZE argument optional when verifying. It is inferred from the
Richard Kettlewell [Fri, 17 Jun 2011 19:54:19 +0000 (20:54 +0100)]
Make SIZE argument optional when verifying.  It is inferred from the
file to be verified.  This is harmless when verifying storage media
but should be avoided if the filesystem implementation is under
suspicion.

7 years agoRemove redundant exit() calls.
Richard Kettlewell [Fri, 17 Jun 2011 19:51:39 +0000 (20:51 +0100)]
Remove redundant exit() calls.

7 years agoRearrange argc/argv for more idiomatic access to positional arguments.
Richard Kettlewell [Fri, 17 Jun 2011 19:49:50 +0000 (20:49 +0100)]
Rearrange argc/argv for more idiomatic access to positional arguments.

7 years agoExpand on purpose a little.
Richard Kettlewell [Wed, 15 Jun 2011 21:51:59 +0000 (22:51 +0100)]
Expand on purpose a little.

7 years agoCopyright notices
Richard Kettlewell [Wed, 15 Jun 2011 21:50:13 +0000 (22:50 +0100)]
Copyright notices

7 years ago.gitignore backup files
Richard Kettlewell [Wed, 15 Jun 2011 21:47:43 +0000 (22:47 +0100)]
.gitignore backup files

7 years agoMacOS support.
Richard Kettlewell [Wed, 15 Jun 2011 21:44:50 +0000 (22:44 +0100)]
MacOS support.
Uses purge to implement --flush.

7 years agoDocument short-form options.
Richard Kettlewell [Wed, 15 Jun 2011 21:23:28 +0000 (22:23 +0100)]
Document short-form options.

7 years agoMore sensible type choices. Making remain be size_t would limit to 4G
Richard Kettlewell [Wed, 15 Jun 2011 21:21:43 +0000 (22:21 +0100)]
More sensible type choices.  Making remain be size_t would limit to 4G
on a 32-bit system!

7 years agoAdd --flush option to evict the subject file from RAM, i.e. so you are
Richard Kettlewell [Wed, 15 Jun 2011 21:19:33 +0000 (22:19 +0100)]
Add --flush option to evict the subject file from RAM, i.e. so you are
really testing the storage device rather than the OS's cache.

As implemented will only work on Linux, and requires superuser
privilege.

7 years agoList options in --help output
Richard Kettlewell [Mon, 13 Jun 2011 19:01:39 +0000 (20:01 +0100)]
List options in --help output

7 years agoAdd a README and man page
Richard Kettlewell [Mon, 13 Jun 2011 19:00:07 +0000 (20:00 +0100)]
Add a README and man page

7 years agovbig - create or verify a large but pseudo-random file
Richard Kettlewell [Mon, 13 Jun 2011 18:34:47 +0000 (19:34 +0100)]
vbig - create or verify a large but pseudo-random file