chiark / gitweb /
main: rename process on startup to 'systemd' to avoid confusion
authorLennart Poettering <lennart@poettering.net>
Wed, 10 Nov 2010 21:35:05 +0000 (22:35 +0100)
committerLennart Poettering <lennart@poettering.net>
Wed, 10 Nov 2010 21:39:33 +0000 (22:39 +0100)
src/main.c

index cd73ee2..ea2f0c1 100644 (file)
@@ -31,6 +31,7 @@
 #include <signal.h>
 #include <sys/wait.h>
 #include <fcntl.h>
+#include <sys/prctl.h>
 
 #include "manager.h"
 #include "log.h"
@@ -896,6 +897,7 @@ int main(int argc, char *argv[]) {
         bool reexecute = false;
         const char *shutdown_verb = NULL;
         dual_timestamp initrd_timestamp = { 0ULL, 0ULL };
+        char systemd[] = "systemd";
 
         if (getpid() != 1 && strstr(program_invocation_short_name, "init")) {
                 /* This is compatbility support for SysV, where
@@ -907,6 +909,14 @@ int main(int argc, char *argv[]) {
                 return 1;
         }
 
+        /* If we get started via the /sbin/init symlink then we are
+           called 'init'. After a subsequent reexecution we are then
+           called 'systemd'. That is confusing, hence let's call us
+           systemd right-away. */
+
+        program_invocation_short_name = systemd;
+        prctl(PR_SET_NAME, systemd);
+
         log_show_color(isatty(STDERR_FILENO) > 0);
         log_show_location(false);
         log_set_max_level(LOG_INFO);