chiark / gitweb /
rules: drivers - always call kmod, even when a driver is bound to the device
authorKay Sievers <kay@vrfy.org>
Sat, 20 Jul 2013 12:29:12 +0000 (14:29 +0200)
committerKay Sievers <kay@vrfy.org>
Sat, 20 Jul 2013 12:31:53 +0000 (14:31 +0200)
On Sat, Jul 20, 2013 at 12:56 PM, Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl> wrote:
> After a recent change present in 3.11-rc1 there is a driver, called processor,
> that can be bound to the CPU devices whose sysfs directories are located under
> /sys/devices/system/cpu/.  A side effect of this is that, after the driver has
> been bound to those devices, the kernel adds DRIVER=processor to ENV for CPU
> uevents and they don't match the default rule for autoloading modules matching
> MODALIAS:
>
> DRIVER!="?*", ENV{MODALIAS}=="?*", IMPORT{builtin}="kmod load $env{MODALIAS}"
>
> any more.  However, there are some modules whose module aliases match specific
> CPU features through the modalias string and those modules should be loaded
> automatically if a compatible CPU is present.  Yet, with the processor driver
> bound to the CPU devices the above rule is not sufficient for that, so we need
> a new default udev rule allowing those modules to be autoloaded even if the
> CPU devices have drivers.

rules/80-drivers.rules

index 50523e4..0b22d73 100644 (file)
@@ -2,7 +2,7 @@
 
 ACTION=="remove", GOTO="drivers_end"
 
-DRIVER!="?*", ENV{MODALIAS}=="?*", RUN{builtin}="kmod load $env{MODALIAS}"
+ENV{MODALIAS}=="?*", RUN{builtin}="kmod load $env{MODALIAS}"
 SUBSYSTEM=="tifm", ENV{TIFM_CARD_TYPE}=="SD", RUN{builtin}="kmod load tifm_sd"
 SUBSYSTEM=="tifm", ENV{TIFM_CARD_TYPE}=="MS", RUN{builtin}="kmod load tifm_ms"
 SUBSYSTEM=="memstick", RUN{builtin}="kmod load ms_block mspro_block"