chiark / gitweb /
path-util: also check for existence of binary when given absolute path
authorZbigniew Jędrzejewski-Szmek <zbyszek@in.waw.pl>
Sat, 12 Apr 2014 21:17:49 +0000 (17:17 -0400)
committerZbigniew Jędrzejewski-Szmek <zbyszek@in.waw.pl>
Sat, 12 Apr 2014 21:23:13 +0000 (17:23 -0400)
In contrast to a filename-only argument, find_binary() did not
actually check if an path exists, allowing the code to fail later on.
This was OK, but it seems nicer to treat both paths identically.

Also take advantage of path_make_absolute_cwd doing strdup() by itself
if necessary to simplify.

src/shared/path-util.c
src/test/test-path-util.c

index 1ad1084..e35d7f8 100644 (file)
@@ -427,15 +427,16 @@ int find_binary(const char *name, char **filename) {
         assert(name);
 
         if (strchr(name, '/')) {
+                if (access(name, X_OK) < 0)
+                        return -errno;
+
                 if (filename) {
                         char *p;
 
-                        if (path_is_absolute(name))
-                                p = strdup(name);
-                        else
-                                p = path_make_absolute_cwd(name);
+                        p = path_make_absolute_cwd(name);
                         if (!p)
                                 return -ENOMEM;
+
                         *filename = p;
                 }
 
index a2cf0af..527b275 100644 (file)
@@ -104,6 +104,8 @@ static void test_find_binary(void) {
         free(p);
 
         assert(find_binary("xxxx-xxxx", &p) == -ENOENT);
+
+        assert(find_binary("/some/dir/xxxx-xxxx", &p) == -ENOENT);
 }
 
 static void test_prefixes(void) {