chiark / gitweb /
man: add a note why %U,%h,%s are mostly useless
authorZbigniew Jędrzejewski-Szmek <zbyszek@in.waw.pl>
Thu, 25 Dec 2014 16:12:54 +0000 (11:12 -0500)
committerZbigniew Jędrzejewski-Szmek <zbyszek@in.waw.pl>
Thu, 25 Dec 2014 16:13:13 +0000 (11:13 -0500)
The reasons were already given in the description of %U, but the
are easy to overlook, and it's better to be explicit to avoid
confusion.

man/systemd.unit.xml

index 2e298ca..1afa600 100644 (file)
                     </tbody>
                   </tgroup>
                 </table>
+
+               <para>Please note that specifiers
+               <literal>%U</literal>, <literal>%h</literal>,
+               <literal>%s</literal> are mostly useless when systemd
+               is running in system mode.  PID 1 cannot query the
+               user account database for information, so the
+               specifiers only work as shortcuts for things which are
+               already specified in a different way in the unit
+               file. They are fully functional when systemd is
+               running in <option>--user</option> mode.</para>
         </refsect1>
 
         <refsect1>