chiark / gitweb /
keymap: Ignore brightness keys on Dell Inspiron 1520 to avoid double events
authorHans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>
Thu, 30 Oct 2014 09:15:54 +0000 (10:15 +0100)
committerMartin Pitt <martin.pitt@ubuntu.com>
Thu, 30 Oct 2014 10:20:34 +0000 (11:20 +0100)
On the Dell Inspiron 1520 both the atkbd and acpi-video input devices report
an event for pressing the brightness up / down key-combos, resulting in user
space seeing double events and increasing / decreasing the brightness 2 steps
for each keypress.

This hwdb snippet suppresses the atkbd events, making the Inspiron 1520 work
like most modern laptops which emit brightness up / down events through
acpi-video only.

Reported by Pavel Malyshev <p.malishev@gmail.com>

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1141525

hwdb/60-keyboard.hwdb

index 06caba9..d2ca965 100644 (file)
@@ -230,6 +230,11 @@ keyboard:dmi:bvn*:bvr*:bd*:svnDell*:pnInspiron*1110:pvr*
 keyboard:dmi:bvn*:bvr*:bd*:svnDell*:pnInspiron*1210:pvr*
  KEYBOARD_KEY_84=wlan
 
+# Dell Inspiron 1520
+keyboard:dmi:bvn*:bvr*:bd*:svnDell*:pnInspiron*1520:pvr*
+ KEYBOARD_KEY_85=unknown  # Brightness Down, also emitted by acpi-video, ignore
+ KEYBOARD_KEY_86=unknown  # Brightness Up, also emitted by acpi-video, ignore
+
 # Latitude XT2
 keyboard:dmi:bvn*:bvr*:bd*:svnDell*:pnLatitude*XT2:pvr*
  KEYBOARD_KEY_9b=up                                     # tablet rocker up