chiark / gitweb /
vconsole: match on vtcon events, not fbcon ones
authorJan Engelhardt <jengelh@inai.de>
Tue, 24 Feb 2015 16:49:02 +0000 (17:49 +0100)
committerDavid Herrmann <dh.herrmann@gmail.com>
Fri, 6 Mar 2015 14:00:40 +0000 (15:00 +0100)
I observe that upon loading of framebuffer drivers, I do not get the
desired system font, but the kernel-level defaults (usually
lib/fonts/font_8x16.c, but your mileage may vary depending on kernel
config and boot options).

The fbcon driver may be loaded at a time way before the first
framebuffer device is active, such that the vconsole setup helper
runs too early.

The existing rule is non-fitting. The going live of the fbcon kernel
component does not indicate the proper time at which to load the
visuals, which really ought to be done when a new vtcon object comes
into existence. (The font table is a per-vtcon property.)

src/vconsole/90-vconsole.rules.in

index 0620096..35b9ad5 100644 (file)
@@ -5,7 +5,6 @@
 #  the Free Software Foundation; either version 2.1 of the License, or
 #  (at your option) any later version.
 
-# Kernel resets vconsole state when changing console drivers so run
-# systemd-vconsole-setup when fbcon loads
-
-ACTION=="add", SUBSYSTEM=="graphics", KERNEL=="fbcon", RUN+="@rootlibexecdir@/systemd-vconsole-setup"
+# Each vtcon keeps its own state of fonts.
+#
+ACTION=="add", SUBSYSTEM=="vtconsole", KERNEL=="vtcon*", RUN+="@rootlibexecdir@/systemd-vconsole-setup"