chiark / gitweb /
Resolve /dev/console to the active tty instead of just "tty0"
authorOlivier Brunel <jjk@jjacky.com>
Fri, 20 Sep 2013 20:18:28 +0000 (22:18 +0200)
committerZbigniew Jędrzejewski-Szmek <zbyszek@in.waw.pl>
Thu, 14 Nov 2013 04:22:30 +0000 (23:22 -0500)
When resolving /dev/console one would often get "tty0" meaning the active VT.
Resolving to the actual tty (e.g. "tty1") will notably help on boot when
determining whether or not PID1 can output to the console.

src/shared/util.c

index 838885a..b77d010 100644 (file)
@@ -3700,6 +3700,16 @@ char *resolve_dev_console(char **active) {
         else
                 tty = *active;
 
+        if (streq(tty, "tty0")) {
+                char *tmp;
+
+                /* Get the active VC (e.g. tty1) */
+                if (read_one_line_file("/sys/class/tty/tty0/active", &tmp) >= 0) {
+                        free(*active);
+                        tty = *active = tmp;
+                }
+        }
+
         return tty;
 }