chiark / gitweb /
journal: Set the default keep free value to 15% (up from 5%)
authorColin Guthrie <colin@mageia.org>
Tue, 30 Apr 2013 10:48:11 +0000 (11:48 +0100)
committerLennart Poettering <lennart@poettering.net>
Fri, 3 May 2013 15:46:44 +0000 (17:46 +0200)
As some SSDs are still seeing performance degredation when
reaching 85% usage the default value of 5% seems a little low.

Set this to 15% by default.

man/journald.conf.xml
src/journal/journal-file.c

index 0b9de65..6d54c94 100644 (file)
                                 configured in
                                 <varname>SystemMaxUse=</varname> and
                                 <varname>RuntimeMaxUse=</varname> is
-                                available. Defaults to 5% of the size
+                                available. Defaults to 15% of the size
                                 of the respective file
                                 system. <varname>SystemMaxFileSize=</varname>
                                 and
index 876224d..f0be24c 100644 (file)
@@ -2769,7 +2769,7 @@ void journal_default_metrics(JournalMetrics *m, int fd) {
         if (m->keep_free == (uint64_t) -1) {
 
                 if (fs_size > 0) {
-                        m->keep_free = PAGE_ALIGN(fs_size / 20); /* 5% of file system size */
+                        m->keep_free = PAGE_ALIGN(fs_size * 3 / 20); /* 15% of file system size */
 
                         if (m->keep_free > DEFAULT_KEEP_FREE_UPPER)
                                 m->keep_free = DEFAULT_KEEP_FREE_UPPER;