chiark / gitweb /
udev(7) manpage: Fix description of $attr
authorMartin Pitt <martin.pitt@ubuntu.com>
Fri, 27 Aug 2010 14:54:52 +0000 (16:54 +0200)
committerMartin Pitt <martin.pitt@ubuntu.com>
Fri, 27 Aug 2010 14:56:32 +0000 (16:56 +0200)
Fix the manpage to describe the real behaviour of $attr: It doesn't search all
parent devices any more, just the one selected by KERNELS etc.

https://launchpad.net/bugs/348513

udev/udev.xml

index 336b203..6085dff 100644 (file)
           <listitem>
             <para>The value of a sysfs attribute found at the device, where
             all keys of the rule have matched. If the matching device does not have
-            such an attribute, follow the chain of parent devices and use the value
-            of the first attribute that matches.
+            such an attribute, and a previous KERNELS, SUBSYSTEMS, DRIVERS, or
+            ATTRS test selected a parent device, use the attribute from that
+            parent device.
             If the attribute is a symlink, the last element of the symlink target is
             returned as the value.</para>
           </listitem>