chiark / gitweb /
Describe handling of an AF_UNIX socket
authorŁukasz Stelmach <l.stelmach@samsung.com>
Wed, 19 Jun 2013 12:59:02 +0000 (14:59 +0200)
committerAuke Kok <auke-jan.h.kok@intel.com>
Wed, 19 Jun 2013 22:24:05 +0000 (15:24 -0700)
Describe how to handle an AF_UNIX socket, with Accept set to false,
received from systemd, upon exit.

Signed-off-by: Łukasz Stelmach <l.stelmach@samsung.com>
man/systemd.socket.xml

index 6dc847d..f1e7d40 100644 (file)
                                 performance reasons, it is recommended
                                 to write new daemons only in a way
                                 that is suitable for
-                                <option>Accept=false</option>. This
-                                option is mostly useful to allow
-                                daemons designed for usage with
+                                <option>Accept=false</option>. A daemon
+                                listening on an AF_UNIX socket may, but does not need to, call
+                                <citerefentry><refentrytitle>close</refentrytitle><manvolnum>2</manvolnum></citerefentry>
+                                or
+                                <citerefentry><refentrytitle>shutdown</refentrytitle><manvolnum>2</manvolnum></citerefentry>
+                                on the received socket before exiting. However,
+                                it must not unlink the socket from a
+                                filesystem. This option is mostly useful
+                                to allow daemons designed for usage with
                                 <citerefentry><refentrytitle>inetd</refentrytitle><manvolnum>8</manvolnum></citerefentry>,
                                 to work unmodified with systemd socket
                                 activation.</para></listitem>