chiark / gitweb /
build: Allow disabling maintainer mode
authorUmut Tezduyar Lindskog <umut.tezduyar@axis.com>
Wed, 13 Nov 2013 08:47:57 +0000 (09:47 +0100)
committerDavid Strauss <david@davidstrauss.net>
Wed, 13 Nov 2013 14:09:45 +0000 (00:09 +1000)
This allows make rules for generated build files (i.e.  configure,
Makefile.in, ... ) to be skipped.  This is useful when
the source is stored without timestamps (for example in CVS or GIT).

When the build rules trigger to regenerate the build files, it tries to
use the same autotools version (currently 1.14) as was originally used
for the release.  Since many of our build machines run Debian Squeeze,
they only have autotools 1.11 available and the build fails.

Currently, we have to work around this by touching all the generated
files before building to avoid triggering the make rule. With this
patch, we would be able to just run configure with
--disable-maintainer-mode instead.  The patch sets the default to enable
to not change the default behavior.

Ref: http://git.kernel.org/cgit/utils/kernel/kmod/kmod.git/commit/
     ?id=f5cc26c77d2f332a9b40f51f0ec72e95711edf1e

configure.ac

index d0bfcb8..bb196f5 100644 (file)
@@ -33,6 +33,7 @@ AC_CONFIG_AUX_DIR([build-aux])
 AC_USE_SYSTEM_EXTENSIONS
 AC_SYS_LARGEFILE
 AC_PREFIX_DEFAULT([/usr])
+AM_MAINTAINER_MODE([enable])
 AM_INIT_AUTOMAKE([foreign 1.11 -Wall -Wno-portability silent-rules tar-pax no-dist-gzip dist-xz subdir-objects check-news])
 AM_SILENT_RULES([yes])
 AC_CANONICAL_HOST