chiark / gitweb /
core: don't reset log level to NOTICE if we get quiet on the kernel cmdline
authorLennart Poettering <lennart@poettering.net>
Wed, 4 Feb 2015 00:42:49 +0000 (01:42 +0100)
committerLennart Poettering <lennart@poettering.net>
Wed, 4 Feb 2015 00:47:31 +0000 (01:47 +0100)
quiet should really just have an effect on the stuff we dump on the
console, not what we log elsewhere.

Hence:

        debug on kernel cmdline → interpreted by every tool, turns up
        log levels to "debug" everywhere.

        quiet on kernel cmdline → interpreted only by PID 1 (and
        obviously the kernel) no alteration of the max log level, but
        turns off status output.

http://lists.freedesktop.org/archives/systemd-devel/2014-December/026271.html

src/core/main.c
src/shared/log.c

index 0480bc8..0749f04 100644 (file)
@@ -367,8 +367,6 @@ static int parse_proc_cmdline_item(const char *key, const char *value) {
 
         } else if (streq(key, "quiet") && !value) {
 
-                log_set_max_level(LOG_NOTICE);
-
                 if (arg_show_status == _SHOW_STATUS_UNSET)
                         arg_show_status = SHOW_STATUS_AUTO;
 
index 9c01560..03ef018 100644 (file)
@@ -914,7 +914,9 @@ static int parse_proc_cmdline_item(const char *key, const char *value) {
          * The systemd.log_xyz= settings are parsed by all tools, and
          * so is "debug".
          *
-         * However, "quiet" is only parsed by PID 1!
+         * However, "quiet" is only parsed by PID 1, and only turns of
+         * status output to /dev/console, but does not alter the log
+         * level.
          */
 
         if (streq(key, "debug") && !value)