chiark / gitweb /
systemctl: verbose message on missing [Install]
authorMichal Schmidt <mschmidt@redhat.com>
Thu, 6 Dec 2012 15:20:10 +0000 (16:20 +0100)
committerMichal Schmidt <mschmidt@redhat.com>
Thu, 6 Dec 2012 15:25:39 +0000 (16:25 +0100)
People still don't understand what the message implies.
We have to be more verbose (or more intelligent and detect some of the
cases automatically, but that's not so easy).

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=884438

src/systemctl/systemctl.c

index 6d01756..3abd7dc 100644 (file)
@@ -3782,7 +3782,16 @@ static int enable_unit(DBusConnection *bus, char **args) {
         }
 
         if (carries_install_info == 0)
-                log_warning("The unit files have no [Install] section. They are not meant to be enabled using systemctl.");
+                log_warning(
+"The unit files have no [Install] section. They are not meant to be enabled\n"
+"using systemctl.\n"
+"Possible reasons for having this kind of units are:\n"
+"1) A unit may be statically enabled by being symlinked from another unit's\n"
+"   .wants/ or .requires/ directory.\n"
+"2) A unit's purpose may be to act as a helper for some other unit which has\n"
+"   a requirement dependency on it.\n"
+"3) A unit may be started when needed via activation (socket, path, timer,\n"
+"   D-Bus, udev, scripted systemctl call, ...).\n");
 
 finish:
         if (m)