chiark / gitweb /
unit: do not order timers.target before basic.target
authorZbigniew Jędrzejewski-Szmek <zbyszek@in.waw.pl>
Sun, 2 Nov 2014 16:39:17 +0000 (11:39 -0500)
committerZbigniew Jędrzejewski-Szmek <zbyszek@in.waw.pl>
Sun, 2 Nov 2014 17:33:54 +0000 (12:33 -0500)
Since commit 19f8d037833f2 'timer: order OnCalendar units after
timer-sync.target if DefaultDependencies=no' timers might get a
dependency on time-sync.target, which does not really belong in early
boot. If ntp is enabled, time-sync.target might be delayed until a
network connection is established.

It turns out that majority of timer units found in the wild do not
need to be started in early boot. Out of the timer units available in
Fedora 21, only systemd-readahead-done.timer and mdadm-last-resort@.timer
should be started early, but they both have DefaultDependencies=no,
so are not part of timers.target anyway. All the rest look like they
will be fine with being started a bit later (and the majority even
much later, since they run daily or weekly).

Let timers.target be pulled in by basic.target, but without the
temporal dependency. This means timer units are started on a "best
effort" schedule.

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1158206

units/basic.target
units/timers.target

index 228f62c..eee3e6b 100644 (file)
@@ -8,8 +8,11 @@
 [Unit]
 Description=Basic System
 Documentation=man:systemd.special(7)
+
 Requires=sysinit.target
+After=sysinit.target
 Wants=sockets.target timers.target paths.target slices.target
-After=sysinit.target sockets.target timers.target paths.target slices.target
+After=sockets.target paths.target slices.target
+
 JobTimeoutSec=15min
 JobTimeoutAction=poweroff-force
index 07fda3d..251fa68 100644 (file)
@@ -8,3 +8,6 @@
 [Unit]
 Description=Timers
 Documentation=man:systemd.special(7)
+
+DefaultDependencies=no
+Conflicts=shutdown.target