chiark / gitweb /
man: Document the actual behaviour of ExecStopPost
authorMathieu Bridon <bochecha@fedoraproject.org>
Wed, 13 Mar 2013 04:43:40 +0000 (12:43 +0800)
committerZbigniew Jędrzejewski-Szmek <zbyszek@in.waw.pl>
Wed, 13 Mar 2013 04:51:35 +0000 (00:51 -0400)
The documentation makes it sound like ExecStopPost is only run when
stopping the service with `systemctl stop foo.service`

However, that is not the case, as it also gets run when the service
unexpectedly exists, crashes, or gets SIGKILLed.

man/systemd.service.xml

index 8977873..b8b19b3 100644 (file)
                                 <term><varname>ExecStopPost=</varname></term>
                                 <listitem><para>Additional commands
                                 that are executed after the service
-                                was stopped using the commands
-                                configured in
-                                <varname>ExecStop=</varname>. This
+                                was stopped. This includes cases where
+                                the commands configured in
+                                <varname>ExecStop=</varname> were used,
+                                where the service doesn't have any
+                                <varname>ExecStop=</varname> defined, or
+                                where the service exited unexpectedly. This
                                 argument takes multiple command lines,
                                 following the same scheme as described
                                 for <varname>ExecStart</varname>. Use