chiark / gitweb /
resolved: when rereading /etc/resolv.conf, always start using first DNS server again
authorLennart Poettering <lennart@poettering.net>
Fri, 23 Jan 2015 17:57:29 +0000 (18:57 +0100)
committerLennart Poettering <lennart@poettering.net>
Fri, 23 Jan 2015 18:03:07 +0000 (19:03 +0100)
Previously we tried to stick to a DNS server as long as it is available.
When /etc/resolv.conf changed, and the old DNS server we used was still
in there we'd continue to use it, even if it was at the end of the list.

With this change we'll now always start with the first DNS server in the
list again.

Rationale: certain network managing implementations (notably
NetworkManager) when connected to a VPN place both the VPN DNS server as
well as the local DNS server in /etc/resolv.conf. If we used the local
one before we would thus continue to use the local one, making VPN names
unresolvable. NetworkManager really should be fixed to only place the
VPN DNS servers in the file, but with this commit things are at least
similarly bad as they used to be...

src/resolve/resolved-manager.c

index 0594479..2edfb9f 100644 (file)
@@ -667,6 +667,16 @@ int manager_read_resolv_conf(Manager *m) {
                 if (s->marked)
                         dns_server_free(s);
 
+        /* Whenever /etc/resolv.conf changes, start using the first
+         * DNS server of it. This is useful to deal with broken
+         * network managing implementations (like NetworkManager),
+         * that when connecting to a VPN place both the VPN DNS
+         * servers and the local ones in /etc/resolv.conf. Without
+         * resetting the DNS server to use back to the first entry we
+         * will continue to use the local one thus being unable to
+         * resolve VPN domains. */
+        manager_set_dns_server(m, m->dns_servers);
+
         return 0;
 
 clear: