chiark / gitweb /
require 2.6.27 for proper signalfd handling
authorKay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org>
Tue, 8 Sep 2009 12:57:42 +0000 (14:57 +0200)
committerKay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org>
Tue, 8 Sep 2009 12:59:50 +0000 (14:59 +0200)
<zzam> kay: ping I found out why udev-145 fails on some
            systems with kernel 2.6.25 and 2.6.26
<zzam> kay: it is because glibc was compiled against linux-headers-2.6.27
            or newer and issues signalfd4 syscall which was introduced in
            kernel 2.6.27 and not older signalfd syscall

README

diff --git a/README b/README
index f6d1ab5..664457d 100644 (file)
--- a/README
+++ b/README
@@ -12,7 +12,7 @@ by udevadm and libudev. Tools and rules in /lib/udev, and the entire content of
 the /dev/.udev directory is private to udev and does change whenever needed.
 
 Requirements:
-  - Version 2.6.25 of the Linux kernel with sysfs, procfs, signalfd, inotify,
+  - Version 2.6.27 of the Linux kernel with sysfs, procfs, signalfd, inotify,
     unix domain sockets, networking and hotplug enabled:
       CONFIG_HOTPLUG=y
       CONFIG_UEVENT_HELPER_PATH=""
@@ -22,7 +22,7 @@ Requirements:
       CONFIG_SYSFS_DEPRECATED*=n
       CONFIG_PROC_FS=y
       CONFIG_TMPFS=y
-      CONFIG_INOTIFY=y
+      CONFIG_INOTIFY_USER=y
       CONFIG_SIGNALFD=y
       CONFIG_TMPFS_POSIX_ACL=y (user ACLs for device nodes)
       CONFIG_BLK_DEV_BSG=y (SCSI devices)