chiark / gitweb /
build-sys: don't build python modules after --without-python
authorZbigniew Jędrzejewski-Szmek <zbyszek@in.waw.pl>
Thu, 19 Sep 2013 18:53:38 +0000 (14:53 -0400)
committerZbigniew Jędrzejewski-Szmek <zbyszek@in.waw.pl>
Thu, 19 Sep 2013 18:58:21 +0000 (14:58 -0400)
The modules should build just fine, but AM_PATH_PYTHON sets
pkgpyexecdir for us. Without that variable we don't know where to
install modules. In addition libtool tries an empty rpath, breaking
the build. Those issues could be fixed or worked around, but we
probably don't have many people who want to avoid using python binary,
but want to compile python modules. If such uses ever come up, this
issue should be revisited.

configure.ac

index d3f853f..156cc96 100644 (file)
@@ -175,9 +175,12 @@ AS_IF([test "x$PYTHON_BINARY" = "x"],
              [PYTHON_BINARY=/usr/bin/python])])
 AC_ARG_VAR(PYTHON_BINARY, [Python binary used to launch installed scripts])
 
+AS_IF([test "x$have_python" != "xyes" -a "x$enable_python_devel" = "xyes"],
+      [AC_MSG_ERROR([*** python-devel support requires --with-python])])
+
 have_python_devel=no
 AC_ARG_ENABLE(python_devel, AS_HELP_STRING([--disable-python-devel], [Do not build python modules]))
-AS_IF([test "x$enable_python_devel" != "xno"], [
+AS_IF([test "x$have_python" = "xyes" -a "x$enable_python_devel" != "xno"], [
       PKG_CHECK_MODULES([PYTHON_DEVEL], [python-${PYTHON_VERSION}],
             [have_python_devel=yes],
             [PKG_CHECK_MODULES([PYTHON_DEVEL], [python],