chiark / gitweb /
dgit(1): Some more info about --deliberately.
authorIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Sun, 23 Oct 2016 14:41:00 +0000 (15:41 +0100)
committerIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Sun, 23 Oct 2016 14:49:21 +0000 (15:49 +0100)
Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
debian/changelog
dgit.1

index ccb54e6..a283b15 100644 (file)
@@ -1,6 +1,7 @@
 dgit (2.7~) unstable; urgency=medium
 
   * dgit(1): Reorder the options, moving more important ones earlier.
+  * dgit(1): Some more info about --deliberately.
 
  --
 
diff --git a/dgit.1 b/dgit.1
index d37e5b0..d6ac8b2 100644 (file)
--- a/dgit.1
+++ b/dgit.1
@@ -376,7 +376,13 @@ maintainer view, the pseudo-merge will appear only in the dgit view.)
 Declare that you are deliberately doing
 .IR something .
 This can be used to override safety catches, including safety catches
-which relate to distro-specific policies.  The meanings of
+which relate to distro-specific policies.
+The use of --deliberately is declared and published in the signed tags
+generated for you by dgit,
+so that the archive software can give effect to your intent,
+and
+for the benefit humans looking at the history.
+The meanings of
 .IR something s
 understood in the context of Debian are discussed below:
 .TP