chiark / gitweb /
dgit(7): Mention bad origs as possible cause of quilt fixup failure
authorIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Mon, 20 Aug 2018 00:24:34 +0000 (01:24 +0100)
committerIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Mon, 20 Aug 2018 00:25:02 +0000 (01:25 +0100)
And document our error message changes.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
debian/changelog
dgit.7

index 3fe4ea8..b4fe0cb 100644 (file)
@@ -26,6 +26,10 @@ dgit (6.7~) unstable; urgency=medium
   * git-debrebase: Provide hints for unprocessable commits, depending
     on the apparent branch ffq state, including possible suggestion
     to use convert-from-*.  Closes:#905005.  Closes:#905279.
+  * dgit: Mention bad origs as possible cause of quilt fixup failure,
+    in both dgit(7) and in error messages.  No longer suggest
+    --quilt=smash or dpkg-source --commit in the error message.
+    Closes:906196.
 
  --
 
diff --git a/dgit.7 b/dgit.7
index b623d8c..27d0998 100644 (file)
--- a/dgit.7
+++ b/dgit.7
@@ -377,6 +377,12 @@ that are not representable by dpkg-source (such as some mode changes).
 Or maybe you just forgot a necessary
 .B --quilt=
 option.
+
+Finally,
+this problem can occur if you have provided
+Debian git tooling such as git-debrebase, git-dpm or git-buildpackage
+with upstream git commit(s) or tag(s)
+which are not 100% identical to your orig tarball(s).
 .SH SPLIT VIEW QUILT MODE
 When working with git branches intended
 for use with the `3.0 (quilt)' source format