chiark / gitweb /
Dgit.pm: reflog_cache_lookup: Replace `confess' with `die' after exec
authorIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Tue, 2 Oct 2018 12:31:16 +0000 (13:31 +0100)
committerIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Tue, 2 Oct 2018 12:40:17 +0000 (13:40 +0100)
With `confess' after `exec', perl complains

  Statement unlikely to be reached at /usr/share/perl5/Debian/Dgit.pm line 770.
  (Maybe you meant system() when you said exec()?)

The error message's suggestion is not right here - what is wrong is
that confess is not really appropriate in the child in this way.

Replace it with die, using a better error string.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Debian/Dgit.pm

index 004daeb..39c4598 100644 (file)
@@ -767,7 +767,7 @@ sub reflog_cache_lookup ($$) {
            printdebug ">(no reflog)\n";
            finish 0;
        }
-       exec @cmd; confess $!;
+       exec @cmd; die f_ "exec %s: %s\n", $cmd[0], $!;
     }
     while (<GC>) {
        chomp;