chiark / gitweb /
dgit-maint-debrebase(7): Warn more against plain git rebase.
authorIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Tue, 31 Jul 2018 12:56:46 +0000 (13:56 +0100)
committerIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Tue, 31 Jul 2018 13:21:48 +0000 (14:21 +0100)
Specifically,
 - warn that pseudomerges must not be rebased over
 - warn and that git-rebase without a base should not be used
 - say to run gdr instead

Closes:#905004.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
debian/changelog
dgit-maint-debrebase.7.pod

index 2e1497d..4cc32d2 100644 (file)
@@ -13,6 +13,8 @@ dgit (6.3~) unstable; urgency=medium
     upstream discrepancy.  Closes:#905078.
   * git-debrebase(5): Add ILLEGAL OPERATIONS section.  (Re#905004.)
   * git-debrebase(1): Warn against plain git rebase.  (Re#905004.)
+  * dgit-maint-debrebase(7): Warn more against plain git rebase.
+    Closes:#905004.
 
  --
 
index 685a6b2..0f2f892 100644 (file)
@@ -625,7 +625,12 @@ using git-rebase(1) directly.  For example,
 =back
 
 If you take this approach, you should be very careful not to start the
-rebase too early.
+rebase too early,
+including before the most recent pseudomerge.
+git-rebase without a base argument will often
+start the rebase too early,
+and should be avoided.
+Run git-debrebase instead.
 
 =head1 SEE ALSO