chiark / gitweb /
git-debrebase: convert-from-gbp; on stitch failure, clarify message
authorIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Sun, 19 Aug 2018 18:59:41 +0000 (19:59 +0100)
committerIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Sun, 19 Aug 2018 19:18:27 +0000 (20:18 +0100)
Clarify what the preceding failure messages mean, and what the
consequences are.

This is part of #906641.

Signed-off-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
git-debrebase

index 6abc86d..eabf5ad 100755 (executable)
@@ -2489,7 +2489,11 @@ END
     if (!$previous_dgit_view) {
        $@ =~ s/^\n+//;
        chomp $@;
-       print STDERR "cannot stitch in dgit view: $@\n";
+       print STDERR <<END;
+Cannot confirm dgit view: $@
+Failed to stitch in dgit view (see messages above).
+dgit --overwrite will be needed on the first dgit push after conversion.
+END
     }
 
     snags_maybe_bail_early();