chiark / gitweb /
dgit-maint-{merge,debrebase}(7): Use git fetch --all --tags
authorSean Whitton <spwhitton@spwhitton.name>
Thu, 5 Sep 2019 16:08:48 +0000 (09:08 -0700)
committerIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Thu, 5 Sep 2019 17:15:20 +0000 (18:15 +0100)
`git remote update` doesn't fetch tags unless remote branches include
the commits at which those tags point.  Thus, if upstream pushes their
release tag but fails to push their master branch, `git remote update`
will not fetch the release tag.

I've been in this situation more than once when following the
workflows detailed in these manpages, so let's just recommend a
command which will definitely try to fetch the latest release tag.

Closes: #939504
Signed-off-by: Sean Whitton <spwhitton@spwhitton.name>
Acked-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
dgit-maint-debrebase.7.pod
dgit-maint-merge.7.pod

index 9c9598b..27c97aa 100644 (file)
@@ -353,7 +353,7 @@ release, and importing that release using git-debrebase(1).
 
 =over 4
 
-    % git remote update
+    % git fetch --all --tags
 
 =back
 
index 0ccd8c7..37a0261 100644 (file)
@@ -362,7 +362,7 @@ to git), you can just run dpkg-buildpackage(1) or debuild(1) instead.
 
 =over 4
 
-    % git remote update
+    % git fetch --all --tags
 
 =back