chiark / gitweb /
add news file
authormartin f. krafft <madduck@debian.org>
Wed, 19 Nov 2008 14:27:30 +0000 (15:27 +0100)
committermartin f. krafft <madduck@debian.org>
Wed, 19 Nov 2008 14:28:10 +0000 (15:28 +0100)
Signed-off-by: martin f. krafft <madduck@debian.org>
debian/NEWS [new file with mode: 0644]
debian/changelog

diff --git a/debian/NEWS b/debian/NEWS
new file mode 100644 (file)
index 0000000..cd4a957
--- /dev/null
@@ -0,0 +1,16 @@
+topgit (0.5-1) unstable; urgency=low
+
+  The Debian topgit package now provides a Makefile snippet for inclusion from
+  debian/rules, to facilitate the creation of a quilt series from TopGit
+  branches during the package build (and cleanup) step. Please refer to
+  /usr/share/doc/topgit/HOWTO-tg2quilt and /usr/share/topgit/tg2quilt.mk for
+  more information. You can see it in action in the topgit package itself.
+
+  To stop the proliferation of TopGit boilerplate, which could make later
+  maintenance and changes more difficult, you are encouraged to make use of
+  the snippet.
+
+  If you have ideas for other features, I'd be happy to incorporate them.
+  Patches most welcome.
+
+ -- martin f. krafft <madduck@debian.org>  Wed, 19 Nov 2008 15:23:52 +0100
index 97ae1ec..4ea074a 100644 (file)
@@ -7,6 +7,7 @@ topgit (0.5-1) unstable; urgency=low
     /usr/share/doc/topgit/HOWTO-tg2quilt for details; thanks to Stefano
     Zacchiroli for the idea that led to this (closes: #501991).
   * Update the README.source workflow to refer to HOWTO-tg2quilt.
+  * Add a NEWS file to make sure people get notified of this change.
 
  -- martin f. krafft <madduck@debian.org>  Fri, 26 Sep 2008 19:55:58 +0200