chiark / gitweb /
elogind.git
12 years agoudev-acl: handle missing action when called in CK mode
Kay Sievers [Tue, 16 Jun 2009 16:11:40 +0000 (18:11 +0200)]
udev-acl: handle missing action when called in CK mode

12 years agoINSTALL: add --enable-extras
Kay Sievers [Tue, 16 Jun 2009 16:06:13 +0000 (18:06 +0200)]
INSTALL: add --enable-extras

12 years agogudev: move from udev-extras
David Zeuthen [Tue, 16 Jun 2009 15:52:15 +0000 (17:52 +0200)]
gudev: move from udev-extras

GObject libudev access. Initial version from Bastien Nocera, current
version by David Zeuthen.

12 years agoudev-acl: move from udev-extras
Kay Sievers [Tue, 16 Jun 2009 15:43:12 +0000 (17:43 +0200)]
udev-acl: move from udev-extras

The build of extras with larger external dependencies is wrapped in:
      --enable-extras

12 years agolibudev: doc - add empty libudev.types
Kay Sievers [Tue, 16 Jun 2009 13:38:40 +0000 (15:38 +0200)]
libudev: doc - add empty libudev.types

12 years agolibudev: remove prefix from .so version variables
Kay Sievers [Tue, 16 Jun 2009 12:56:10 +0000 (14:56 +0200)]
libudev: remove prefix from .so version variables

12 years agoTODO: update
Kay Sievers [Tue, 16 Jun 2009 12:21:08 +0000 (14:21 +0200)]
TODO: update

12 years agoautogen.sh: simplify
Kay Sievers [Tue, 16 Jun 2009 12:19:19 +0000 (14:19 +0200)]
autogen.sh: simplify

12 years agolibudev: move .so version to libudev Makefile
Kay Sievers [Tue, 16 Jun 2009 12:18:16 +0000 (14:18 +0200)]
libudev: move .so version to libudev Makefile

12 years agolibudev: doc - add namespace for index
Kay Sievers [Tue, 16 Jun 2009 01:02:46 +0000 (03:02 +0200)]
libudev: doc - add namespace for index

12 years agoupdate TODO
Kay Sievers [Tue, 16 Jun 2009 00:03:26 +0000 (02:03 +0200)]
update TODO

12 years agorules: Gentoo update
Matthias Schwarzott [Mon, 15 Jun 2009 22:44:39 +0000 (00:44 +0200)]
rules: Gentoo update

12 years agolibudev: doc - add queue
Kay Sievers [Mon, 15 Jun 2009 18:28:28 +0000 (20:28 +0200)]
libudev: doc - add queue

12 years agolibudev: doc - add enumerate
Kay Sievers [Mon, 15 Jun 2009 18:04:46 +0000 (20:04 +0200)]
libudev: doc - add enumerate

12 years agolibudev: doc - add section headers
Kay Sievers [Mon, 15 Jun 2009 15:09:43 +0000 (17:09 +0200)]
libudev: doc - add section headers

12 years agolibudev: update documentation
Kay Sievers [Mon, 15 Jun 2009 11:22:38 +0000 (13:22 +0200)]
libudev: update documentation

12 years agolibudev: add gtk-doc
Kay Sievers [Mon, 15 Jun 2009 11:22:21 +0000 (13:22 +0200)]
libudev: add gtk-doc

12 years agorules: Gentoo update
Matthias Schwarzott [Sun, 14 Jun 2009 16:27:52 +0000 (18:27 +0200)]
rules: Gentoo update

12 years agoUSE_LOG -> ENABLE_LOGGING, DEBUG -> ENABLE_DEBUG, USE_SELINUX -> WITH_SELINUX
Kay Sievers [Sun, 14 Jun 2009 15:53:15 +0000 (17:53 +0200)]
USE_LOG -> ENABLE_LOGGING, DEBUG -> ENABLE_DEBUG, USE_SELINUX -> WITH_SELINUX

12 years agoREADME: add INOTIFY and SIGNALFD
Kay Sievers [Thu, 11 Jun 2009 15:59:46 +0000 (17:59 +0200)]
README: add INOTIFY and SIGNALFD

12 years agoREADME: add kernel options
Kay Sievers [Thu, 11 Jun 2009 15:58:14 +0000 (17:58 +0200)]
README: add kernel options

12 years agoudevadm: info -revert "accept --query without argument"
Kay Sievers [Wed, 10 Jun 2009 13:55:24 +0000 (15:55 +0200)]
udevadm: info -revert "accept --query without argument"

Getopt is too dumb, the optional argument breaks "udevadm -q symlink".

12 years agoupdate NEWS
Kay Sievers [Tue, 9 Jun 2009 22:18:00 +0000 (00:18 +0200)]
update NEWS

12 years agorules: remove scsi ch module loading rule
Kay Sievers [Tue, 9 Jun 2009 22:17:35 +0000 (00:17 +0200)]
rules: remove scsi ch module loading rule

12 years agolibudev: rename private files to *-private.c
Kay Sievers [Tue, 9 Jun 2009 21:12:12 +0000 (23:12 +0200)]
libudev: rename private files to *-private.c

12 years agomove common stuff from udev/ to private parts of libudev/
Kay Sievers [Tue, 9 Jun 2009 21:05:25 +0000 (23:05 +0200)]
move common stuff from udev/ to private parts of libudev/

12 years agomove syslog wrapper to libudev
Kay Sievers [Tue, 9 Jun 2009 20:47:48 +0000 (22:47 +0200)]
move syslog wrapper to libudev

12 years agolibudev: call log functions conditionally
Kay Sievers [Tue, 9 Jun 2009 17:03:39 +0000 (19:03 +0200)]
libudev: call log functions conditionally

12 years agoudevd: log info for created/killed workers
Kay Sievers [Tue, 9 Jun 2009 16:31:14 +0000 (18:31 +0200)]
udevd: log info for created/killed workers

12 years agolibudev: device_new() -> udev_device_new()
Kay Sievers [Tue, 9 Jun 2009 11:11:23 +0000 (13:11 +0200)]
libudev: device_new() -> udev_device_new()

12 years agofix libudev include in Makefile.am.in
Kay Sievers [Mon, 8 Jun 2009 20:25:58 +0000 (22:25 +0200)]
fix libudev include in Makefile.am.in

12 years agolibudev: move to top-level directory
Kay Sievers [Mon, 8 Jun 2009 19:36:06 +0000 (21:36 +0200)]
libudev: move to top-level directory

12 years agolibudev: add comments to libudev.h
Kay Sievers [Mon, 8 Jun 2009 17:31:07 +0000 (19:31 +0200)]
libudev: add comments to libudev.h

12 years agopath_id: rename scsi sub-fuctions
Kay Sievers [Mon, 8 Jun 2009 17:22:53 +0000 (19:22 +0200)]
path_id: rename scsi sub-fuctions

12 years agoudevd: print error if worker dies unexpectedly
Kay Sievers [Mon, 8 Jun 2009 15:16:48 +0000 (17:16 +0200)]
udevd: print error if worker dies unexpectedly

12 years agopath_id: delete old shell script
Kay Sievers [Mon, 8 Jun 2009 14:51:13 +0000 (16:51 +0200)]
path_id: delete old shell script

Removed with this is SAS disk support which never really worked properly,
and legacy IDE disk support, which can be re-implemented if needed.

12 years agopath_id: add iscsi support
Kay Sievers [Mon, 8 Jun 2009 14:48:27 +0000 (16:48 +0200)]
path_id: add iscsi support

12 years agopath_id: handle fibre channel
Kay Sievers [Mon, 8 Jun 2009 12:56:49 +0000 (14:56 +0200)]
path_id: handle fibre channel

12 years agoudevadm: monitor --environment -> --property
Kay Sievers [Sun, 7 Jun 2009 01:07:33 +0000 (03:07 +0200)]
udevadm: monitor --environment -> --property

12 years agoudevadm: control - --env -> --property
Kay Sievers [Sun, 7 Jun 2009 00:53:35 +0000 (02:53 +0200)]
udevadm: control - --env -> --property

12 years agoudevadm: info - accept --query without a value and print properties
Kay Sievers [Sun, 7 Jun 2009 00:39:54 +0000 (02:39 +0200)]
udevadm: info - accept --query without a value and print properties

12 years agoudevadm: trigger - add --property-match=<key>:<value>
Kay Sievers [Sun, 7 Jun 2009 00:07:54 +0000 (02:07 +0200)]
udevadm: trigger - add --property-match=<key>:<value>

12 years agolibudev: enumerate - allow multiple keys with the same name
Kay Sievers [Sat, 6 Jun 2009 23:51:38 +0000 (01:51 +0200)]
libudev: enumerate - allow multiple keys with the same name

12 years agofix signed/unsigned warning
Kay Sievers [Sat, 6 Jun 2009 19:19:56 +0000 (21:19 +0200)]
fix signed/unsigned warning

12 years agopath_id: add comments
Kay Sievers [Sat, 6 Jun 2009 18:36:46 +0000 (20:36 +0200)]
path_id: add comments

12 years agopath_id: update SCSI handling
Kay Sievers [Sat, 6 Jun 2009 18:30:56 +0000 (20:30 +0200)]
path_id: update SCSI handling

12 years agopath_id: implement in C using libudev
Kay Sievers [Sat, 6 Jun 2009 14:07:06 +0000 (16:07 +0200)]
path_id: implement in C using libudev

12 years agocleanup $attr{} substitution
Kay Sievers [Sat, 6 Jun 2009 02:54:41 +0000 (04:54 +0200)]
cleanup $attr{} substitution

12 years agoallow format substitution in path of ATTR{<path>}=="<value>"
Kay Sievers [Sat, 6 Jun 2009 02:52:52 +0000 (04:52 +0200)]
allow format substitution in path of ATTR{<path>}=="<value>"

12 years agoudevd: use enum instead of char in struct declaration
Kay Sievers [Fri, 5 Jun 2009 21:27:11 +0000 (23:27 +0200)]
udevd: use enum instead of char in struct declaration

12 years agorules: make RFKILL control device world readable
Marcel Holtmann [Fri, 5 Jun 2009 13:09:05 +0000 (15:09 +0200)]
rules: make RFKILL control device world readable

12 years agorules: do not call path_id for virtual devices
Kay Sievers [Thu, 4 Jun 2009 01:21:33 +0000 (03:21 +0200)]
rules: do not call path_id for virtual devices

12 years agoudevd: close netlink socket in worker and set cloexec
Kay Sievers [Thu, 4 Jun 2009 00:49:42 +0000 (02:49 +0200)]
udevd: close netlink socket in worker and set cloexec

12 years agoudevd: convert to event worker processes
Kay Sievers [Wed, 3 Jun 2009 23:44:04 +0000 (01:44 +0200)]
udevd: convert to event worker processes

Event processes now get re-used after they handled an event. This reduces
pressure on the CPU significantly because cloned event processes no longer
cause page faults in the main daemon. After the events have settled, the
no longer needed worker processes get killed.

12 years agostr[sp]cpyl: add __attribute__ ((sentinel))
Kay Sievers [Mon, 1 Jun 2009 19:10:29 +0000 (21:10 +0200)]
str[sp]cpyl: add __attribute__ ((sentinel))

12 years agoudevd: remove check for dev_t, DEVPATH_OLD takes care of that
Kay Sievers [Fri, 29 May 2009 16:54:03 +0000 (18:54 +0200)]
udevd: remove check for dev_t, DEVPATH_OLD takes care of that

12 years agoudevadm: settle - add --exit-if-exists=<file>
Kay Sievers [Fri, 29 May 2009 12:05:39 +0000 (14:05 +0200)]
udevadm: settle - add --exit-if-exists=<file>

12 years agocdrom_id: add error message if open() fails
Kay Sievers [Fri, 29 May 2009 11:21:38 +0000 (13:21 +0200)]
cdrom_id: add error message if open() fails

12 years agoudevadm: control - add comment to man page about --reload-rules
Kay Sievers [Thu, 28 May 2009 17:21:35 +0000 (19:21 +0200)]
udevadm: control - add comment to man page about --reload-rules

12 years agoudevd: queue-export - fix crash
Alan Jenkins [Thu, 28 May 2009 16:59:06 +0000 (17:59 +0100)]
udevd: queue-export - fix crash

The math in skip_to() was the wrong way round and allocated a
variable size array on the stack with a massively negative size.

Signed-off-by: Alan Jenkins <alan-jenkins@tuffmail.co.uk>
12 years agoudev-selinux.c: remove libudev header
Alan Jenkins [Thu, 28 May 2009 10:50:10 +0000 (12:50 +0200)]
udev-selinux.c: remove libudev header

Signed-off-by: Alan Jenkins <alan-jenkins@tuffmail.co.uk>
12 years agocdrom_id: suppress ID_CDROM_MEDIA_STATE=blank for plain non-writable CDROM media
Kay Sievers [Mon, 25 May 2009 22:50:45 +0000 (00:50 +0200)]
cdrom_id: suppress ID_CDROM_MEDIA_STATE=blank for plain non-writable CDROM media

Some broken fake cdrom drives return ID_CDROM_MEDIA_STATE=blank.

  $ /lib/udev/cdrom_id -d /dev/sr1
  main: probing: '/dev/sr1'
  cd_inquiry: INQUIRY: [Nokia   ][S60             ][1.0 ]
  cd_profiles: GET CONFIGURATION: number of profiles 76
  cd_profiles: current profile 0x08
  cd_media_toc: READ TOC: len: 12
  cd_media_toc: last track 1 starts at block 0
  cd_media_info: disk type 00
  ID_CDROM=1
  ID_CDROM_MRW=1
  ID_CDROM_MRW_W=1
  ID_CDROM_MEDIA=1
  ID_CDROM_MEDIA_CD=1
  ID_CDROM_MEDIA_STATE=blank

Others work fine, but ID_CDROM_MEDIA_STATE is not needed for non-writable CDROM media:

  $ /lib/udev/cdrom_id -d /dev/sr1
  main: probing: '/dev/sr1'
  cd_inquiry: INQUIRY: [SanDisk ][U3 Cruzer Micro ][8.02]
  cd_profiles: GET CONFIGURATION: number of profiles 72
  cd_profiles: current profile 0x08
  cd_media_toc: READ TOC: len: 20
  cd_media_toc: track=1 info=0x4(data) start_block=0
  cd_media_toc: last track 1 starts at block 0
  cd_media_info: disk type 00
  ID_CDROM=1
  ID_CDROM_MRW=1
  ID_CDROM_MRW_W=1
  ID_CDROM_MEDIA=1
  ID_CDROM_MEDIA_CD=1
  ID_CDROM_MEDIA_STATE=complete
  ID_CDROM_MEDIA_SESSION_COUNT=1
  ID_CDROM_MEDIA_TRACK_COUNT=1
  ID_CDROM_MEDIA_TRACK_COUNT_DATA=1

12 years agotest: check string substitutions in OWNER and GROUP
Benjamin Gilbert [Fri, 22 May 2009 18:54:46 +0000 (20:54 +0200)]
test: check string substitutions in OWNER and GROUP

String substitutions in OWNER and GROUP keys were broken in udev 137-142.
Explicitly test for this, since such breakage will not manifest in typical
rulesets.

12 years agorules: add SUBSYSTEM match to scsi rules
Kay Sievers [Fri, 22 May 2009 14:44:53 +0000 (16:44 +0200)]
rules: add SUBSYSTEM match to scsi rules

On Fri, May 22, 2009 at 16:15, Alan Jenkins <alan-jenkins@tuffmail.co.uk> wrote:
> I've been looking at what is responsible for all the path lookup activity in
> coldplug.  On my debian stable system, it looks like every device gets its
> parent looked up in sysfs.  I think this is due to SUBSYSTEMS matches.
>
> I see the udev default rules are different, but it looks like they still
> test for SUBSYSTEMS on every single device. Should we add SUBSYSTEM="scsi_generic"
> to these three rules?

12 years agoupdate NEWS
Kay Sievers [Thu, 21 May 2009 21:52:09 +0000 (23:52 +0200)]
update NEWS

12 years agoudevadm: settle - make --timeout=0 working
Kay Sievers [Thu, 21 May 2009 21:49:53 +0000 (23:49 +0200)]
udevadm: settle - make --timeout=0 working

12 years agoudevd: implement a more efficient queue file format
Alan Jenkins [Thu, 21 May 2009 20:22:37 +0000 (22:22 +0200)]
udevd: implement a more efficient queue file format

Directory lookups show up in profiling. The queue files are responsible
for a large proportion of file-related system calls in udev coldplug.

Instead of creating a file for each event, append their details to a
log file.  The file is periodically rebuilt (garbage-collected) to
prevent it from growing indefinitely.

This single queue file replaces both the queue directory and the
uevent_seqnum file. On desktop systems the file tends not to grow
beyond one page. So it should also save a small amount of memory in
tmpfs.

Tests on a running EeePC indicate average savings of 5% *udevd* cpu time
as measured by oprofile. __link_path_walk is reduced from 1.5% to
1.3%. It is not completely clear where the rest of the gains come from.

In tests running ~400 events, the queue file is rebuilt about 5 times.

Signed-off-by: Alan Jenkins <alan-jenkins@tuffmail.co.uk>
12 years agoudevd: remove tiny bit of dead code
Alan Jenkins [Thu, 21 May 2009 16:31:43 +0000 (18:31 +0200)]
udevd: remove tiny bit of dead code

12 years agofix location of database files
Kay Sievers [Wed, 20 May 2009 23:44:45 +0000 (01:44 +0200)]
fix location of database files

12 years agokeep the ifdef'd udevd testing/profiling hack
Kay Sievers [Wed, 20 May 2009 23:20:18 +0000 (01:20 +0200)]
keep the ifdef'd udevd testing/profiling hack

12 years agorequire key names in uppercase
Kay Sievers [Wed, 20 May 2009 21:45:32 +0000 (23:45 +0200)]
require key names in uppercase

Drop pretty expensive case-insensitive matching, and key names in
mixed or lowercase are not supported anyway.

12 years agoremove unused GL_FORMAT from rules parser
Kay Sievers [Wed, 20 May 2009 21:12:22 +0000 (23:12 +0200)]
remove unused GL_FORMAT from rules parser

12 years agoupdate TODO
Kay Sievers [Wed, 20 May 2009 17:43:26 +0000 (19:43 +0200)]
update TODO

12 years agouse openat(), unlinkat(), fstatat()
Kay Sievers [Wed, 20 May 2009 16:58:52 +0000 (18:58 +0200)]
use openat(), unlinkat(), fstatat()

12 years agoedd_id: use openat()
Kay Sievers [Wed, 20 May 2009 16:10:26 +0000 (18:10 +0200)]
edd_id: use openat()

12 years agouse more efficient string copying
Kay Sievers [Wed, 20 May 2009 15:57:52 +0000 (17:57 +0200)]
use more efficient string copying

12 years agoudevadm: settle - fix timeout
Alan Jenkins [Wed, 20 May 2009 14:12:22 +0000 (16:12 +0200)]
udevadm: settle - fix timeout

The timeout wasn't working when settle was run as root:
  # udevadm control --stop-exec-queue
  # udevadm trigger
  # udevadm settle --timeout=1
  ... (hangs)

Signed-off-by: Alan Jenkins <alan-jenkins@tuffmail.co.uk>
12 years agoremove format char string truncation syntax
Kay Sievers [Tue, 19 May 2009 10:56:17 +0000 (12:56 +0200)]
remove format char string truncation syntax

12 years agoOWNER/GROUP: fix if logic
Scott James Remnant [Thu, 14 May 2009 11:42:44 +0000 (12:42 +0100)]
OWNER/GROUP: fix if logic

The introduction of the --resolve-names=early/never code introduced a
bug to the OWNER/GROUP lookup.  Previously if the name had contained $,
lookup would have been performed later; after the patch, the key ended
up being ignored!

12 years agorule-generator: cd - skip by-path links if we create by-id links
Kay Sievers [Thu, 14 May 2009 10:57:19 +0000 (12:57 +0200)]
rule-generator: cd - skip by-path links if we create by-id links

12 years agoRevert "rules: v4l do not mix vbi and video nodes"
Kay Sievers [Wed, 13 May 2009 22:32:25 +0000 (00:32 +0200)]
Revert "rules: v4l do not mix vbi and video nodes"

This reverts commit 6205f1186e4980544ea425d31770358d1b2579e4.

12 years agofix possible endless loop for GOTO to non-existent LABEL
Kay Sievers [Wed, 13 May 2009 16:01:32 +0000 (18:01 +0200)]
fix possible endless loop for GOTO to non-existent LABEL

http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=526365

12 years agorules: v4l do not mix vbi and video nodes
Kay Sievers [Wed, 13 May 2009 15:55:08 +0000 (17:55 +0200)]
rules: v4l do not mix vbi and video nodes

12 years agoversion bump
Kay Sievers [Wed, 13 May 2009 01:13:08 +0000 (03:13 +0200)]
version bump

12 years agorelease 142
Kay Sievers [Wed, 13 May 2009 00:35:37 +0000 (02:35 +0200)]
release 142

12 years agodelete libvolume_id
Kay Sievers [Tue, 12 May 2009 11:28:01 +0000 (13:28 +0200)]
delete libvolume_id

12 years agodelete vol_id and require util-linux-ng's blkid
Kay Sievers [Mon, 11 May 2009 02:12:23 +0000 (04:12 +0200)]
delete vol_id and require util-linux-ng's blkid

12 years agoupdate TODO
Kay Sievers [Mon, 11 May 2009 01:53:55 +0000 (03:53 +0200)]
update TODO

12 years agoadd "static" back to the inline functions
Kay Sievers [Thu, 7 May 2009 11:24:40 +0000 (13:24 +0200)]
add "static" back to the inline functions

<Keybuk> kay: udev git head ftbfs
<Keybuk> udev-watch.o: In function `udev_selinux_init':
<Keybuk> /../udev/udev.h:130: multiple definition of `udev_selinux_init'

12 years agorules: fix ieee1394 rules
Kay Sievers [Tue, 5 May 2009 10:43:42 +0000 (12:43 +0200)]
rules: fix ieee1394 rules

12 years agoremove asmlinkage
Kay Sievers [Tue, 5 May 2009 00:39:16 +0000 (02:39 +0200)]
remove asmlinkage

12 years agoremove all PHYSDEVPATH handling and warning about
Kay Sievers [Mon, 4 May 2009 20:08:05 +0000 (22:08 +0200)]
remove all PHYSDEVPATH handling and warning about

12 years agooops, removed ppp entry from rules got committed
Kay Sievers [Mon, 4 May 2009 12:10:05 +0000 (14:10 +0200)]
oops, removed ppp entry from rules got committed

12 years agohandle devtmpfs nodes
Kay Sievers [Mon, 4 May 2009 02:52:31 +0000 (04:52 +0200)]
handle devtmpfs nodes

UDev follows the kernel given name, and re-uses the kernel created
device node. If the kernel and spcecified udev rules disagree, the
udev specified node node is created and the kernel-created on is
deleted.

12 years agorule-generator: net - whitelist NICs that violate MAC local scheme
Lubomir Rintel [Sun, 3 May 2009 13:37:30 +0000 (15:37 +0200)]
rule-generator: net - whitelist NICs that violate MAC local scheme

According to list of assigned ethernet codes [1] referred to by
IANA [2] certain global addresses do not follow the assignement
scheme and use numbers reserved for local use. Several such adapters
are quite widely used, generate rules for them.

[1] http://www.cavebear.com/archive/cavebear/Ethernet/vendor.html
[2] http://www.iana.org/assignments/ethernet-numbers

12 years agorules: remove initramfs comment
Kay Sievers [Sun, 3 May 2009 12:44:23 +0000 (14:44 +0200)]
rules: remove initramfs comment

12 years agoudevd: revert initial device node creation
Kay Sievers [Sat, 2 May 2009 03:23:02 +0000 (05:23 +0200)]
udevd: revert initial device node creation

12 years agorules: add "event*" match
Kay Sievers [Fri, 1 May 2009 15:52:21 +0000 (17:52 +0200)]
rules: add "event*" match

12 years agobuild: use AC_MSG_RESULT
Kay Sievers [Fri, 1 May 2009 03:09:51 +0000 (05:09 +0200)]
build: use AC_MSG_RESULT

12 years agoupdate TODO
Kay Sievers [Wed, 29 Apr 2009 13:57:41 +0000 (15:57 +0200)]
update TODO