chiark / gitweb /
scsi_id: prevent buffer overflow in check_fill_0x83_prespc3()
authorHarald Hoyer <harald@redhat.com>
Wed, 16 Sep 2009 15:42:15 +0000 (17:42 +0200)
committerKay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org>
Wed, 16 Sep 2009 22:06:03 +0000 (00:06 +0200)
see https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=516920

extras/scsi_id/scsi_serial.c

index 9235912..ab0ffd6 100644 (file)
@@ -578,11 +578,12 @@ static int check_fill_0x83_prespc3(struct udev *udev,
        /* serial has been memset to zero before */
        j = strlen(serial);     /* j = 1; */
 
-       for (i = 0; i < page_83[3]; ++i) {
+       for (i = 0; (i < page_83[3]) && (j < max_len-3); ++i) {
                serial[j++] = hex_str[(page_83[4+i] & 0xf0) >> 4];
                serial[j++] = hex_str[ page_83[4+i] & 0x0f];
        }
-       strcpy(serial_short, serial);
+       serial[max_len-1] = 0;
+       strncpy(serial_short, serial, max_len-1);
        return 0;
 }