chiark / gitweb /
disorder
12 years agomention broadcast, broadcast_from in disorder_config(5)
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 16 Sep 2007 15:50:58 +0000 (16:50 +0100)]
mention broadcast, broadcast_from in disorder_config(5)

12 years agoalsa code builds again
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 16 Sep 2007 15:20:45 +0000 (16:20 +0100)]
alsa code builds again

12 years agoInstall disorderd under launchd in Mac OS X.
Richard Kettlewell [Tue, 4 Sep 2007 21:53:55 +0000 (22:53 +0100)]
Install disorderd under launchd in Mac OS X.

disorder-speaker can now transmit RTP over the network.  Effectively
untested and not yet fully documented.

New playrtp client.  Totally untested, might not even build.

12 years agorescan reports progress every 1000 tracks
Richard Kettlewell [Sat, 25 Aug 2007 16:19:02 +0000 (17:19 +0100)]
rescan reports progress every 1000 tracks

12 years agofix scratch path
Richard Kettlewell [Sat, 25 Aug 2007 14:29:28 +0000 (15:29 +0100)]
fix scratch path

12 years agoonly report volume change fail once
Richard Kettlewell [Sat, 25 Aug 2007 14:28:54 +0000 (15:28 +0100)]
only report volume change fail once

12 years agorefer to README.raw
Richard Kettlewell [Sat, 25 Aug 2007 12:58:47 +0000 (13:58 +0100)]
refer to README.raw

12 years agomention plugin install locations
Richard Kettlewell [Sat, 25 Aug 2007 12:58:00 +0000 (13:58 +0100)]
mention plugin install locations

12 years agomention raw players
Richard Kettlewell [Sat, 25 Aug 2007 12:57:52 +0000 (13:57 +0100)]
mention raw players

12 years agomake sure tests is last directory
Richard Kettlewell [Wed, 22 Aug 2007 19:42:44 +0000 (20:42 +0100)]
make sure tests is last directory

12 years agogc.h might be in /sw/include/gc
Richard Kettlewell [Wed, 22 Aug 2007 18:14:03 +0000 (19:14 +0100)]
gc.h might be in /sw/include/gc

12 years agoput the newline in the right place
Richard Kettlewell [Wed, 22 Aug 2007 18:13:52 +0000 (19:13 +0100)]
put the newline in the right place

12 years agoREADME hint for debian users
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 19 Aug 2007 15:55:30 +0000 (16:55 +0100)]
README hint for debian users

12 years agoDB_RECORDCOUNT has been deprecated for ages and has gone in db4.6
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 19 Aug 2007 15:54:53 +0000 (15:54 +0000)]
DB_RECORDCOUNT has been deprecated for ages and has gone in db4.6

12 years agoskeletal test infrastructure
Richard Kettlewell [Tue, 31 Jul 2007 19:17:18 +0000 (20:17 +0100)]
skeletal test infrastructure

12 years agodon't leak cn->container. FINALLY.
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 29 Jul 2007 18:48:47 +0000 (19:48 +0100)]
don't leak cn->container.  FINALLY.

12 years agofurther horrid memory debugging stuff
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 29 Jul 2007 18:40:54 +0000 (19:40 +0100)]
further horrid memory debugging stuff

12 years agoreport cache size with MDEBUG
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 29 Jul 2007 17:10:55 +0000 (18:10 +0100)]
report cache size with MDEBUG

12 years agouse clear_children() more consistently
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 29 Jul 2007 16:56:54 +0000 (17:56 +0100)]
use clear_children() more consistently

12 years agodon't leak list of children
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 29 Jul 2007 16:55:11 +0000 (17:55 +0100)]
don't leak list of children

12 years agomore verbose menu items
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 29 Jul 2007 15:59:48 +0000 (16:59 +0100)]
more verbose menu items

12 years agoquieten compiler
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 29 Jul 2007 14:48:34 +0000 (15:48 +0100)]
quieten compiler

12 years ago,commit
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 29 Jul 2007 14:36:28 +0000 (15:36 +0100)]
,commit

12 years agoremember to dist disorder-speaker.8
Richard Kettlewell [Thu, 26 Jul 2007 19:32:52 +0000 (20:32 +0100)]
remember to dist disorder-speaker.8

12 years agoa couple of missing pcre -> gc bindings
Richard Kettlewell [Wed, 18 Jul 2007 19:11:16 +0000 (20:11 +0100)]
a couple of missing pcre -> gc bindings

12 years agoDon't link against -lgc if not using garbage collection.
Richard Kettlewell [Tue, 17 Jul 2007 21:44:51 +0000 (22:44 +0100)]
Don't link against -lgc if not using garbage collection.

12 years ago-liconv where needed
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 15 Jul 2007 21:38:58 +0000 (22:38 +0100)]
-liconv where needed

12 years agodisorder-rescan now obsoletes tracks that belong to no collection;
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 15 Jul 2007 16:43:59 +0000 (17:43 +0100)]
disorder-rescan now obsoletes tracks that belong to no collection;
handy when you remove some collection.  The code should be relatively
robust against such tracks but they'll annoy the random track picker.

trackdb_rescan() is thus modified to be able to return all tracks.

find_track_collection() maps a track to its collection, or 0 if it
doesn't have one.

12 years agominor tidying following last change
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 15 Jul 2007 15:09:56 +0000 (16:09 +0100)]
minor tidying following last change

12 years agoAbolish shared libdisorder; now we use a static one.
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 15 Jul 2007 15:07:16 +0000 (16:07 +0100)]
Abolish shared libdisorder; now we use a static one.

New server/exports.c ensures that all the right symbols are exported
to plugins.

12 years agodisobedience: don't crash if no password
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 15 Jul 2007 14:05:32 +0000 (15:05 +0100)]
disobedience: don't crash if no password

12 years agoupdate README.streams to be bidirectional. (don't cross the streams\!)
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Tue, 10 Jul 2007 23:28:18 +0000 (00:28 +0100)]
update README.streams to be bidirectional.  (don't cross the streams\!)

12 years agodisobedience more robust against server restart
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Tue, 10 Jul 2007 23:14:31 +0000 (00:14 +0100)]
disobedience more robust against server restart

12 years agoupdated CHANGES
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Tue, 10 Jul 2007 23:09:01 +0000 (00:09 +0100)]
updated CHANGES

12 years agoNew queue_pad option defines how big to keep the queue (by adding
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Tue, 10 Jul 2007 23:08:49 +0000 (00:08 +0100)]
New queue_pad option defines how big to keep the queue (by adding
random tracks).  User-chosen tracks are added before the final block
of random tracks.

Also updated CHANGES a bit.

12 years agonote bug
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Tue, 10 Jul 2007 23:08:22 +0000 (00:08 +0100)]
note bug

12 years agomore speaker mode care
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Tue, 10 Jul 2007 22:30:41 +0000 (23:30 +0100)]
more speaker mode care

12 years agospeaker process is now more consistent about whether it's using ALSA
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Tue, 10 Jul 2007 22:23:39 +0000 (23:23 +0100)]
speaker process is now more consistent about whether it's using ALSA
or writing to a subprocess.

12 years agoNew configuration option sox_generation to choose between different
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Tue, 10 Jul 2007 21:53:42 +0000 (22:53 +0100)]
New configuration option sox_generation to choose between different
sox syntaxes.

12 years agoignore tarballs
Richard Kettlewell [Tue, 10 Jul 2007 20:38:54 +0000 (21:38 +0100)]
ignore tarballs

12 years agodocs note that sox is required for speaker_command
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 8 Jul 2007 14:19:56 +0000 (15:19 +0100)]
docs note that sox is required for speaker_command

12 years agomissing break in soxargs()
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 8 Jul 2007 14:15:17 +0000 (15:15 +0100)]
missing break in soxargs()

12 years agobuild speaker even if no alsa
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 8 Jul 2007 14:05:50 +0000 (15:05 +0100)]
build speaker even if no alsa

12 years agodocument speaker_command and sample_format
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 8 Jul 2007 13:44:43 +0000 (14:44 +0100)]
document speaker_command and sample_format

12 years agoMerge from Mark's branch.
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 8 Jul 2007 13:35:16 +0000 (14:35 +0100)]
Merge from Mark's branch.
    revno: 9
    committer: mdw@distorted.org.uk
    branch nick: disorder
    timestamp: Sat 2007-06-09 12:58:16 +0100
    message:
      server/speaker: Wake up on POLLERR on kidpipe too.

      Ooops.  The theory was that the speaker process would notice an EPIPE on
      its kid pipe and respawn its kid.  Unfortunately I don't understand
      poll(2) enough, and failed to listen for POLLERR, so in fact the speaker
      goes into a tailspin if its kid dies.
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    revno: 8
    committer: Mark Wooding <mdw@distorted.org.uk>
    branch nick: disorder
    timestamp: Wed 2007-05-30 11:56:52 +0100
    message:
      Support streaming to external process.

      Introduce two new configuration variables:

* speaker_command: Shell command to pipe audio to instead of using an
  ALSA device.

* sample_format: The sample format expected by this process in the
  form BITS/RATE/CHANNELS -- each integers, except that BITS may be
  suffixed by `b' or `l' for big- or little-endian respectively.  The
  default is 16/44100/2.

      If speaker_command is unset, everything is as it used to be.  If it's
      set, however, disorder-speaker will resample its input (using sox) to
      conform to the desired format if necessary, and pipe the result to the
      command's stdin.  Only one speaker_command is run at a time (respawned
      automatically if it quits), and it receives the audio data of many
      tracks.

      An example command (and the reason I did this grim hack):

    lame -h -r -s44.1 -b128 -x -mj --preset standard - - |
      ices -c /etc/disorder/ices.conf >/dev/null

      re-encodes as an MP3 stream and feeds the result to my IceCast server.

12 years agoMerge from MDW's branch:
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 8 Jul 2007 13:21:58 +0000 (14:21 +0100)]
Merge from MDW's branch:
    revno: 10
    committer: mdw@distorted.org.uk
    branch nick: disorder
    timestamp: Wed 2007-06-27 09:38:12 +0100
    message:
      templates: Kill slash bogus @url@/? entries in templates.

12 years agomake speaker logging less verbose
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 8 Jul 2007 13:16:16 +0000 (14:16 +0100)]
make speaker logging less verbose

12 years agoHandle underrun when detected during poll() setup as well as from
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 8 Jul 2007 13:03:38 +0000 (14:03 +0100)]
Handle underrun when detected during poll() setup as well as from
snd_pcm_writei(); previously the speaker would just get stuck in this
case.  Add some extra logging of ALSA parameters as part of the
debugging process.

12 years agomore mm care in disobedience/choose.c
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sat, 7 Jul 2007 16:48:53 +0000 (17:48 +0100)]
more mm care in disobedience/choose.c

12 years agocopyright dates
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sat, 7 Jul 2007 16:11:22 +0000 (17:11 +0100)]
copyright dates

12 years agodisobedience: Clear out the root before refilling it.
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sat, 7 Jul 2007 15:57:35 +0000 (16:57 +0100)]
disobedience: Clear out the root before refilling it.

12 years agocompute_alias() is now also hardened against tracks outside any
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sat, 7 Jul 2007 15:10:40 +0000 (16:10 +0100)]
compute_alias() is now also hardened against tracks outside any
collection.  It takes the view that such never have an alias, no
matter what.

12 years agofind_track_root() now issues a log message if it finds a track outside
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sat, 7 Jul 2007 15:07:09 +0000 (16:07 +0100)]
find_track_root() now issues a log message if it finds a track outside
any collection.  Should make it clearer what's going on if something
believes the answer and crashes.

track_to_words() now includes a bodge for such tracks to avoid a
crash.  Ultimately the answer is to expunge such tracks from the
database but while my db is in a bizarre state it's worth making the
code a bit more robust.

12 years agoDisable use of libgc on libglib and descendants. I believe that
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sat, 7 Jul 2007 14:30:48 +0000 (15:30 +0100)]
Disable use of libgc on libglib and descendants.  I believe that
somewhere the latter is still allocating memory outside of libgc's
ability to detect it, but I cannot determine where.

GtkScale format-value callbacks fixed to use g_strdup().

12 years agoinsist on GC_all_interior_pointers
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sat, 7 Jul 2007 14:06:08 +0000 (15:06 +0100)]
insist on GC_all_interior_pointers

12 years agoEnable gc_mem_gc_friendly ad G_SLICE_CONFIG_ALWAYS_MALLOC, the latter
Richard Kettlewell [Tue, 3 Jul 2007 23:39:33 +0000 (00:39 +0100)]
Enable gc_mem_gc_friendly ad G_SLICE_CONFIG_ALWAYS_MALLOC, the latter
turning out to be critical for running GTK+ and libgc together.

12 years agonote about configuration required by disobedience
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 1 Jul 2007 22:07:20 +0000 (23:07 +0100)]
note about configuration required by disobedience

12 years agoMore Debianization stuff:
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 1 Jul 2007 21:51:52 +0000 (22:51 +0100)]
More Debianization stuff:
  * depend on debconf
  * fix indenting of description
  * postrm does init.d and debconf purge

12 years agouse dist-hook to ship bzr changelog
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 1 Jul 2007 21:29:37 +0000 (22:29 +0100)]
use dist-hook to ship bzr changelog

12 years agoRemove some wacky leftover debugging.
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 1 Jul 2007 19:37:14 +0000 (20:37 +0100)]
Remove some wacky leftover debugging.

check_suitable() now rejects tracks that don't belong to any
collection.  This situation can arise if you remove a collection from
the configuration.

A remaining bug is that even reproducible data for the tracks remains
in the database long after the collection has been removed.

12 years agodebianization makefile hackery
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 1 Jul 2007 19:33:25 +0000 (20:33 +0100)]
debianization makefile hackery

12 years agoignores for local build
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 1 Jul 2007 19:33:07 +0000 (20:33 +0100)]
ignores for local build

12 years agomore ignores
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 1 Jul 2007 16:16:50 +0000 (17:16 +0100)]
more ignores

12 years agoInclude bzr changelog in ChangeLog.d.
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 1 Jul 2007 14:50:16 +0000 (15:50 +0100)]
Include bzr changelog in ChangeLog.d.

12 years agoFixes for 64-bit Linux support. Reported by Ross Younger.
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 1 Jul 2007 14:45:16 +0000 (15:45 +0100)]
Fixes for 64-bit Linux support.  Reported by Ross Younger.

12 years agochange version to reflect development status
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 1 Jul 2007 13:37:53 +0000 (14:37 +0100)]
change version to reflect development status

12 years agoDebianization fixes from Colin Watson.
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 1 Jul 2007 13:30:11 +0000 (14:30 +0100)]
Debianization fixes from Colin Watson.

12 years agoFix sedfiles.make to cope with changed make syntax. Reported by Colin
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 1 Jul 2007 13:12:13 +0000 (14:12 +0100)]
Fix sedfiles.make to cope with changed make syntax.  Reported by Colin
Watson and Michael Stevens.

12 years agoRemove redundant words in configure output. Reported by Colin Watson.
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 1 Jul 2007 13:09:29 +0000 (14:09 +0100)]
Remove redundant words in configure output.  Reported by Colin Watson.

12 years agoreference bzr
Richard Kettlewell [Mon, 28 May 2007 17:43:03 +0000 (18:43 +0100)]
reference bzr

12 years agoconfigure.ac: Correct definition of BUILD_SPEAKER for active case.
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Sun, 28 Jan 2007 12:01:25 +0000 (12:01 +0000)]
configure.ac: Correct definition of BUILD_SPEAKER for active case.

12 years agoconfigure.ac: Only look for ALSA libraries on Linux. On other platforms,
Richard Kettlewell [Sun, 28 Jan 2007 11:54:39 +0000 (11:54 +0000)]
configure.ac: Only look for ALSA libraries on Linux.  On other platforms,
              we don't try to build the speaker subprocess.
server/speaker.c: Don't build on platforms without ALSA.

These two files are tied together via the BUILD_SPEAKER define, so that
when the speaker process supports other APIs, it can be turned back on.

12 years agovertical-align:: wants 'middle', not 'center'
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Tue, 23 Jan 2007 22:51:34 +0000 (22:51 +0000)]
vertical-align:: wants 'middle', not 'center'
See: http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-CSS2/visudet.html#propdef-vertical-align

12 years agoRemove arch tags throughout
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Tue, 23 Jan 2007 21:45:45 +0000 (21:45 +0000)]
Remove arch tags throughout
Add some ignores to keep 'bzr status' happy

12 years agoImport from Arch revision:
rjk@greenend.org.uk [Tue, 23 Jan 2007 21:23:45 +0000 (21:23 +0000)]
Import from Arch revision:
rjk@greenend.org.uk--2004/disorder--mainline--0.1--patch-328