chiark / gitweb /
post-pizza-notify.git
2 years agoREADME master
Ian Jackson [Mon, 27 Jun 2016 14:02:12 +0000 (15:02 +0100)]
README

2 years agoParallelise
Ian Jackson [Mon, 27 Jun 2016 13:46:54 +0000 (14:46 +0100)]
Parallelise

2 years agovia-sms: use locking
Ian Jackson [Mon, 27 Jun 2016 13:24:37 +0000 (14:24 +0100)]
via-sms: use locking

3 years agoNew notification mechanism 'userv'.
Simon Tatham [Fri, 18 Dec 2015 17:23:59 +0000 (17:23 +0000)]
New notification mechanism 'userv'.

This makes an ssh connection to a specified host, and then invokes a
specified userv service provided by a specified user. The recipient
configuration is of the form 'userv SSH_HOST_ARG USERV_USER SERVICE',
e.g. I've been testing it myself with the line
    userv sgtatham@chiark sgtatham post-pizza
which causes the first argument 'sgtatham@chiark' to be passed to ssh,
and then the service command 'userv sgtatham post-pizza' to be invoked
on the target host.

The notification message is passed to the userv service via standard
input, because that seemed slightly easier than doing it as a
command-line argument (the latter would be easy enough to get through
userv uncorrupted, but less easy to get through the ssh command line
mechanism).

The userv service is invoked with a 2-second timeout, so if it needs
to do anything potentially long (like trying to make a network
connection over a maybe-not-up-yet secnet tunnel) then it should close
file descriptors and fork.

5 years agovia-email: use bcc
Ian Jackson [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 16:39:51 +0000 (17:39 +0100)]
via-email: use bcc

5 years agodocument recipient formats better
Ian Jackson [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 16:39:43 +0000 (17:39 +0100)]
document recipient formats better

5 years agotest-recipients: use discard-all as example
Ian Jackson [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 16:36:10 +0000 (17:36 +0100)]
test-recipients: use discard-all as example

5 years agobetter usage message
Ian Jackson [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 16:35:15 +0000 (17:35 +0100)]
better usage message

5 years agotest-recipients: commit this file for people's convenience
Ian Jackson [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 16:33:39 +0000 (17:33 +0100)]
test-recipients: commit this file for people's convenience

5 years agoswap argument order, support spaces in email address list
Ian Jackson [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 16:31:35 +0000 (17:31 +0100)]
swap argument order, support spaces in email address list

5 years agoworks, tested
Ian Jackson [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 16:18:10 +0000 (17:18 +0100)]
works, tested

5 years agowip, nearly working
Ian Jackson [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 16:16:20 +0000 (17:16 +0100)]
wip, nearly working

5 years agowip
Ian Jackson [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 14:40:21 +0000 (15:40 +0100)]
wip

5 years agoviasms works now
Ian Jackson [Mon, 17 Mar 2014 18:12:52 +0000 (18:12 +0000)]
viasms works now

5 years agosegfaults!
Ian Jackson [Mon, 17 Mar 2014 18:08:39 +0000 (18:08 +0000)]
segfaults!

5 years agoviasms wip
Ian Jackson [Mon, 17 Mar 2014 17:56:43 +0000 (17:56 +0000)]
viasms wip