chiark / gitweb /
elogind.git
14 years agovolume_id: generate man page from xml source
Kay Sievers [Thu, 30 Mar 2006 00:13:22 +0000 (02:13 +0200)]
volume_id: generate man page from xml source

14 years agovolume_id: update README
Kay Sievers [Wed, 29 Mar 2006 23:52:12 +0000 (01:52 +0200)]
volume_id: update README

14 years agopass CROSS_COMPILE to AR and RANLIB down to extras/
Kay Sievers [Wed, 29 Mar 2006 22:48:30 +0000 (00:48 +0200)]
pass CROSS_COMPILE to AR and RANLIB down to extras/

14 years agoupdate SUSE rules
Kay Sievers [Wed, 29 Mar 2006 14:27:58 +0000 (16:27 +0200)]
update SUSE rules

14 years agoupdate Red Hat rules
Kay Sievers [Wed, 29 Mar 2006 13:59:49 +0000 (15:59 +0200)]
update Red Hat rules

14 years agomove all *_id programs to /lib/udev/
Kay Sievers [Wed, 29 Mar 2006 12:44:41 +0000 (14:44 +0200)]
move all *_id programs to /lib/udev/

14 years agoupdate Debian rules
Kay Sievers [Wed, 29 Mar 2006 10:19:21 +0000 (12:19 +0200)]
update Debian rules

14 years agoman pages: mention udev(7) not udev(8)
Kay Sievers [Tue, 28 Mar 2006 18:16:34 +0000 (20:16 +0200)]
man pages: mention udev(7) not udev(8)

Thanks to:
  Henrique de Moraes Holschuh <hmh@debian.org>

14 years agoremove all stripping code
Kay Sievers [Tue, 28 Mar 2006 01:09:18 +0000 (03:09 +0200)]
remove all stripping code

14 years agovolume_id: define exported symbols
Kay Sievers [Tue, 28 Mar 2006 00:52:58 +0000 (02:52 +0200)]
volume_id: define exported symbols

14 years agovolume_id: remove some global symbols
Kay Sievers [Mon, 27 Mar 2006 21:03:25 +0000 (23:03 +0200)]
volume_id: remove some global symbols

14 years agobecause is better than cause
Kay Sievers [Mon, 27 Mar 2006 18:22:00 +0000 (20:22 +0200)]
because is better than cause

14 years agovolume_id: use shared library by default
Kay Sievers [Mon, 27 Mar 2006 17:30:56 +0000 (19:30 +0200)]
volume_id: use shared library by default

14 years agovolume_id: rename subdirectory
Kay Sievers [Mon, 27 Mar 2006 16:05:17 +0000 (18:05 +0200)]
volume_id: rename subdirectory

14 years agovolume_id: provide a custom debug function
Kay Sievers [Mon, 27 Mar 2006 15:59:22 +0000 (17:59 +0200)]
volume_id: provide a custom debug function

14 years agoupdate man page
Kay Sievers [Thu, 23 Mar 2006 13:01:04 +0000 (14:01 +0100)]
update man page

14 years agofix rule order for persistent tape links
Kay Sievers [Thu, 23 Mar 2006 09:57:05 +0000 (10:57 +0100)]
fix rule order for persistent tape links

Thanks a lot to Marco for finding this.

14 years agovolume_id: provide library
Kay Sievers [Thu, 23 Mar 2006 09:50:55 +0000 (10:50 +0100)]
volume_id: provide library

14 years agodon't create uuid/label links for raid members
Kay Sievers [Wed, 22 Mar 2006 18:46:33 +0000 (19:46 +0100)]
don't create uuid/label links for raid members

14 years agochange rule to skip removable IDE devices
Kay Sievers [Wed, 22 Mar 2006 18:16:26 +0000 (19:16 +0100)]
change rule to skip removable IDE devices

14 years agopath_id: add bus to USB path
Hannes Reinecke [Wed, 22 Mar 2006 11:21:49 +0000 (12:21 +0100)]
path_id: add bus to USB path

14 years ago088 release
Kay Sievers [Tue, 21 Mar 2006 19:44:13 +0000 (20:44 +0100)]
088 release

14 years agoupdate SUSE rules
Kay Sievers [Tue, 21 Mar 2006 18:26:12 +0000 (19:26 +0100)]
update SUSE rules

14 years agofix output for USB path
Kay Sievers [Tue, 21 Mar 2006 16:28:47 +0000 (17:28 +0100)]
fix output for USB path

14 years agorename "persistent disk" to "persistent storage"
Kay Sievers [Tue, 21 Mar 2006 15:20:54 +0000 (16:20 +0100)]
rename "persistent disk" to "persistent storage"

14 years agofix spelling error in debug string
Kay Sievers [Tue, 21 Mar 2006 15:17:28 +0000 (16:17 +0100)]
fix spelling error in debug string

14 years agovolume_id: remove all partition table support
Kay Sievers [Tue, 21 Mar 2006 15:16:55 +0000 (16:16 +0100)]
volume_id: remove all partition table support

14 years agopersistent links: add scsi tape links and usb path support
Hannes Reinecke [Tue, 21 Mar 2006 15:10:18 +0000 (16:10 +0100)]
persistent links: add scsi tape links and usb path support

14 years agovolume_id: remove partition table parsing code
Kay Sievers [Tue, 21 Mar 2006 15:02:07 +0000 (16:02 +0100)]
volume_id: remove partition table parsing code

14 years agoadd ',' to trusted chars
Kay Sievers [Fri, 17 Mar 2006 00:56:02 +0000 (01:56 +0100)]
add ',' to trusted chars

SGI needs it for some compatibility device names from irix,
xvm volumes use "volname,subvolname" as the default device node.

14 years agoadd udevtrigger to request events for coldplug
Kay Sievers [Fri, 17 Mar 2006 00:52:15 +0000 (01:52 +0100)]
add udevtrigger to request events for coldplug

The shell script can't handle 1000's of devices.

14 years agocorrect use of fcntl()
Kay Sievers [Thu, 16 Mar 2006 09:47:31 +0000 (10:47 +0100)]
correct use of fcntl()

14 years agoreset signal handler in event process
Kay Sievers [Thu, 16 Mar 2006 09:46:30 +0000 (10:46 +0100)]
reset signal handler in event process

14 years agovolume_id: add squashfs detection
Kay Sievers [Wed, 8 Mar 2006 18:44:28 +0000 (19:44 +0100)]
volume_id: add squashfs detection

14 years ago087 release
Kay Sievers [Tue, 7 Mar 2006 23:38:17 +0000 (00:38 +0100)]
087 release

14 years agoremove devfs rules and scripts
Kay Sievers [Tue, 7 Mar 2006 23:34:36 +0000 (00:34 +0100)]
remove devfs rules and scripts

14 years agowarn about %e, MODALIAS, $modalias
Kay Sievers [Tue, 7 Mar 2006 22:20:10 +0000 (23:20 +0100)]
warn about %e, MODALIAS, $modalias

14 years agofix persistent disk rules to exclude removable IDE drives
Kay Sievers [Tue, 7 Mar 2006 22:19:27 +0000 (23:19 +0100)]
fix persistent disk rules to exclude removable IDE drives

14 years agopath_id: support SAS devices
Hannes Reinecke [Wed, 1 Mar 2006 19:07:20 +0000 (20:07 +0100)]
path_id: support SAS devices

14 years agotypo in debug text in udev_run_hotplugd.c
Masatake YAMATO [Wed, 1 Mar 2006 19:02:41 +0000 (20:02 +0100)]
typo in debug text in udev_run_hotplugd.c

14 years ago086 release
Kay Sievers [Fri, 24 Feb 2006 15:59:50 +0000 (16:59 +0100)]
086 release

14 years agoudevd: fix queue export for multiple events for the same device
Kay Sievers [Thu, 23 Feb 2006 19:10:49 +0000 (20:10 +0100)]
udevd: fix queue export for multiple events for the same device

Identified by Joachim Plack <jplack@suse.de> while working around
the problem that the device nodes appear and disappear while the
partitiontable is re-read and the application need to waait for an
empty udevd queue.

14 years agovolume_id: add missing return
Kay Sievers [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 18:14:43 +0000 (19:14 +0100)]
volume_id: add missing return

14 years agoupdate to udev-084/doc/writing_udev_rules
Nix [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 17:53:25 +0000 (18:53 +0100)]
update to udev-084/doc/writing_udev_rules

14 years agovolume_id: split raid and filesystem detection
Kay Sievers [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 17:48:28 +0000 (18:48 +0100)]
volume_id: split raid and filesystem detection

14 years agovolume_id: replace __packed__ by PACKED macro
Kay Sievers [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 17:44:18 +0000 (18:44 +0100)]
volume_id: replace __packed__ by PACKED macro

14 years agoworkaround missing kernel headers for some architectures
Kyle McMartin [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 16:01:54 +0000 (17:01 +0100)]
workaround missing kernel headers for some architectures

Signed-off-by: Kyle McMartin <kyle@parisc-linux.org>
14 years ago085 release
Kay Sievers [Wed, 15 Feb 2006 22:15:27 +0000 (23:15 +0100)]
085 release

14 years agoinclude errno.h in udev_libc_wrapper.c
Kay Sievers [Wed, 15 Feb 2006 20:12:49 +0000 (21:12 +0100)]
include errno.h in udev_libc_wrapper.c

14 years agofix typo in parisc support to path_id
Jeroen Roovers [Wed, 15 Feb 2006 20:06:19 +0000 (21:06 +0100)]
fix typo in parisc support to path_id

As reported at http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=113379
path_id is still broken for parisc boxes.  This patch from
Jeroen Roovers <jer@gentoo.org> fixes that.

Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
14 years agoupdate Gentoo rules
Kay Sievers [Wed, 15 Feb 2006 20:03:25 +0000 (21:03 +0100)]
update Gentoo rules

14 years agoupdate Red Hat rules
Kay Sievers [Wed, 15 Feb 2006 19:57:29 +0000 (20:57 +0100)]
update Red Hat rules

14 years agoupdate SUSE rules
Kay Sievers [Wed, 15 Feb 2006 19:54:53 +0000 (20:54 +0100)]
update SUSE rules

14 years agoexit WAIT_FOR_SYSFS if the whole device goes away
Kay Sievers [Wed, 15 Feb 2006 19:43:28 +0000 (20:43 +0100)]
exit WAIT_FOR_SYSFS if the whole device goes away

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agocramfs detection for bigendian
Kay Sievers [Mon, 13 Feb 2006 05:29:30 +0000 (06:29 +0100)]
cramfs detection for bigendian

Patch from Olaf Hering <olh@suse.de>.

14 years agoinclude sys/socket.h for klibc build
Kay Sievers [Fri, 3 Feb 2006 12:52:37 +0000 (13:52 +0100)]
include sys/socket.h for klibc build

Requested by Aaron Griffin <aaronmgriffin@gmail.com>

14 years agofix typo in man page
Kay Sievers [Wed, 1 Feb 2006 01:08:11 +0000 (02:08 +0100)]
fix typo in man page

Thanks to Joachim Breitner <nomeata@debian.org>.

14 years agoFix trivial spelling errors in RELEASE-NOTES
Andrey Borzenkov [Wed, 1 Feb 2006 01:01:12 +0000 (02:01 +0100)]
Fix trivial spelling errors in RELEASE-NOTES

Signed-off-by: Andrey Borzenkov <arvidjaar@mail.ru>
14 years agomake WAIT_FOR_SYSFS usable in non "wait-only" rules
Kay Sievers [Tue, 31 Jan 2006 15:24:22 +0000 (16:24 +0100)]
make WAIT_FOR_SYSFS usable in non "wait-only" rules

Thanks to Andrey Borzenkov <arvidjaar@mail.ru> for noticing this
and the initial patch to fix it.

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years ago084 release
Kay Sievers [Mon, 30 Jan 2006 07:51:38 +0000 (08:51 +0100)]
084 release

14 years agoadd debug output to sysfs operations
Kay Sievers [Mon, 30 Jan 2006 07:39:55 +0000 (08:39 +0100)]
add debug output to sysfs operations

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agolet SYSFS{} look at the device, not only the parent device
Kay Sievers [Sun, 29 Jan 2006 16:08:44 +0000 (17:08 +0100)]
let SYSFS{} look at the device, not only the parent device

The stricter parent logic broke: BUS=="ide", SYSFS{removable}=="1", ...
cause removable is on the block device, which isn't a ide device.
Just look for matching attributes at the device and the selected parent
device at the same time now.

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agooptimize sysfs device and attribute cache
Kay Sievers [Sun, 29 Jan 2006 01:09:35 +0000 (02:09 +0100)]
optimize sysfs device and attribute cache

Add negative cache for attributes and look for device in cache before doing
any sysfs access. (Three times speed up for a stupid 1000 rules SYSFS file).

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agoscsi_id: remove dead files
Kay Sievers [Sat, 28 Jan 2006 15:42:49 +0000 (16:42 +0100)]
scsi_id: remove dead files

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agowhitespace fixes
Kay Sievers [Sat, 28 Jan 2006 15:39:46 +0000 (16:39 +0100)]
whitespace fixes

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agoremove UDEVD_UEVENT_INITSEND
Kay Sievers [Sat, 28 Jan 2006 04:04:38 +0000 (05:04 +0100)]
remove UDEVD_UEVENT_INITSEND

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agomove manpages to top level
Kay Sievers [Sat, 28 Jan 2006 03:56:24 +0000 (04:56 +0100)]
move manpages to top level

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agoreplace fancy silent build program by simple kernel build like logic
Kay Sievers [Sat, 28 Jan 2006 03:44:51 +0000 (04:44 +0100)]
replace fancy silent build program by simple kernel build like logic

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agoswitch CROSS to CROSS_COMPILE
Kay Sievers [Fri, 27 Jan 2006 20:36:29 +0000 (21:36 +0100)]
switch CROSS to CROSS_COMPILE

This matches what the kernel uses and was a suggestion from:
  KRONSTORFER Horst <Horst.KRONSTORFER@frequentis.com>

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agoupdate SUSE rules
Kay Sievers [Fri, 27 Jan 2006 01:17:59 +0000 (02:17 +0100)]
update SUSE rules

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years ago083 release
Kay Sievers [Fri, 27 Jan 2006 00:41:07 +0000 (01:41 +0100)]
083 release

14 years agoremove redundant substitution of RUN key
Kay Sievers [Fri, 27 Jan 2006 00:40:26 +0000 (01:40 +0100)]
remove redundant substitution of RUN key

Thanks to Andrey Borzenkov <arvidjaar@mail.ru> for the initial patch.

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agodon't add $SUBSYSTEM automatically as $1 to programs
Kay Sievers [Thu, 26 Jan 2006 03:38:33 +0000 (04:38 +0100)]
don't add $SUBSYSTEM automatically as $1 to programs

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agofind programs in /lib/udev for IMPORT if {program} is not given
Kay Sievers [Thu, 26 Jan 2006 02:59:13 +0000 (03:59 +0100)]
find programs in /lib/udev for IMPORT if {program} is not given

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agocheck for ignore_device in loop looks redundant
Andrey Borzenkov [Thu, 26 Jan 2006 01:24:13 +0000 (02:24 +0100)]
check for ignore_device in loop looks redundant

14 years agoman page: document when substitutions are applied for RUN and other keys
Andrey Borzenkov [Thu, 26 Jan 2006 01:18:01 +0000 (02:18 +0100)]
man page: document when substitutions are applied for RUN and other keys

14 years agoudevstart: fix NAME="" which prevents RUN from being executed
Kay Sievers [Thu, 26 Jan 2006 01:16:58 +0000 (02:16 +0100)]
udevstart: fix NAME="" which prevents RUN from being executed

Thanks to Olivier Blin <oblin@mandriva.com> for finding this.

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years ago082 release
Kay Sievers [Wed, 25 Jan 2006 01:45:48 +0000 (02:45 +0100)]
082 release

14 years agolet "ignore_device" always return the event successfully
Kay Sievers [Wed, 25 Jan 2006 01:21:07 +0000 (02:21 +0100)]
let "ignore_device" always return the event successfully

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agoudevtest: add udev_rules_apply_format() to RUN keys
Kay Sievers [Wed, 25 Jan 2006 01:18:13 +0000 (02:18 +0100)]
udevtest: add udev_rules_apply_format() to RUN keys

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agorename apply_format() cause it is public now
Kay Sievers [Wed, 25 Jan 2006 00:28:31 +0000 (01:28 +0100)]
rename apply_format() cause it is public now

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agoupdate SUSE rules
Kay Sievers [Tue, 24 Jan 2006 20:02:30 +0000 (21:02 +0100)]
update SUSE rules

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agoremove udev, udevstart, udevsend from the default installation
Kay Sievers [Tue, 24 Jan 2006 19:29:37 +0000 (20:29 +0100)]
remove udev, udevstart, udevsend from the default installation

They still get compiled and are used for the test program, but
everything should just work with the daemon and the kernel
"uevent" triggers these days.

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agorecreate man pages from xml source
Kay Sievers [Tue, 24 Jan 2006 19:24:26 +0000 (20:24 +0100)]
recreate man pages from xml source

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agomove udev(8) manpage to udev(7)
Kay Sievers [Tue, 24 Jan 2006 19:21:42 +0000 (20:21 +0100)]
move udev(8) manpage to udev(7)

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agosubstitute format chars in RUN after rule matching
Andrey Borzenkov [Tue, 24 Jan 2006 19:10:48 +0000 (20:10 +0100)]
substitute format chars in RUN after rule matching

Apply substitutions before running a program, not while the rule
is parsed. It allows to use environment variables set during rule
processing as command arguments.

14 years agoincrease kernel uevent buffer size
Kay Sievers [Tue, 24 Jan 2006 11:12:07 +0000 (12:12 +0100)]
increase kernel uevent buffer size

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agodon't do RUN if "ignore_device" is given
Kay Sievers [Tue, 24 Jan 2006 02:03:42 +0000 (03:03 +0100)]
don't do RUN if "ignore_device" is given

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agousb_id: don't fail on other subsytems than "scsi"
Kay Sievers [Mon, 23 Jan 2006 18:09:17 +0000 (19:09 +0100)]
usb_id: don't fail on other subsytems than "scsi"

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agopath_id: handle fiber channel
Kay Sievers [Mon, 23 Jan 2006 18:08:06 +0000 (19:08 +0100)]
path_id: handle fiber channel

Patch from: Hannes Reinecke <hare@suse.de>

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agoMakefile: remove dynamic config file generation
Kay Sievers [Mon, 23 Jan 2006 02:24:16 +0000 (03:24 +0100)]
Makefile: remove dynamic config file generation

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agofixes udev build with -fpie
Olivier Blin [Fri, 20 Jan 2006 22:18:23 +0000 (23:18 +0100)]
fixes udev build with -fpie

Add missing includes and environ declaration.

14 years agoignore all messages with missing devpath or action
Kay Sievers [Fri, 20 Jan 2006 01:54:31 +0000 (02:54 +0100)]
ignore all messages with missing devpath or action

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agopath_id: work with "all devices in /sys/devices"
Kay Sievers [Thu, 19 Jan 2006 03:54:34 +0000 (04:54 +0100)]
path_id: work with "all devices in /sys/devices"

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agoscsi_id, usb_id: request device parent by subsystem
Kay Sievers [Wed, 18 Jan 2006 03:24:48 +0000 (04:24 +0100)]
scsi_id, usb_id: request device parent by subsystem

Request specific parents identified by subsystem and don't rely on
a predefined sequence.
Also let the devpath be longer than 72 chars, tsss ...

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years ago081 release
Kay Sievers [Mon, 16 Jan 2006 05:16:57 +0000 (06:16 +0100)]
081 release

14 years agoprepare moving of /sys/class devices to /sys/devices
Kay Sievers [Mon, 16 Jan 2006 05:14:26 +0000 (06:14 +0100)]
prepare moving of /sys/class devices to /sys/devices

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agofix BUS, ID, $id usage
Kay Sievers [Mon, 16 Jan 2006 05:12:49 +0000 (06:12 +0100)]
fix BUS, ID, $id usage

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agovol_id: probe volume as user nobody
Kay Sievers [Fri, 13 Jan 2006 12:18:41 +0000 (13:18 +0100)]
vol_id: probe volume as user nobody

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
14 years agobetter log test and comments
Kay Sievers [Fri, 13 Jan 2006 12:17:10 +0000 (13:17 +0100)]
better log test and comments

Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>