chiark / gitweb /
elogind.git
7 years agokeymap: Add Fujitsu Siemens Amilo Li 2732
Bruno Redondi [Mon, 6 Feb 2012 08:00:59 +0000 (09:00 +0100)]
keymap: Add Fujitsu Siemens Amilo Li 2732

Signed-off-by: Martin Pitt <martin.pitt@ubuntu.com>
7 years agoata_id: fix identify string fixup
Andreas Schwab [Wed, 1 Feb 2012 11:50:48 +0000 (12:50 +0100)]
ata_id: fix identify string fixup

7 years agoata_id: whitespace fixes
Kay Sievers [Wed, 1 Feb 2012 11:45:50 +0000 (12:45 +0100)]
ata_id: whitespace fixes

7 years agokeymap: Fix touchpad toggle button on Lenovo Ideapad
James M. Leddy [Wed, 1 Feb 2012 04:48:58 +0000 (05:48 +0100)]
keymap: Fix touchpad toggle button on Lenovo Ideapad

https://launchpad.net/bugs/922405

Signed-off-by: Martin Pitt <martin.pitt@ubuntu.com>
7 years agoextras: cdrom_id - create only /dev/cdrom
Kay Sievers [Mon, 30 Jan 2012 18:03:05 +0000 (19:03 +0100)]
extras: cdrom_id -  create only /dev/cdrom

7 years agoextras: cdrom_id - create /dev/cdrom and conditionally /dev/dvd for sr0
Kay Sievers [Mon, 30 Jan 2012 14:08:45 +0000 (15:08 +0100)]
extras: cdrom_id -  create /dev/cdrom and conditionally /dev/dvd for sr0

Udev does no longer automatically create udev rules in /etc from the
device hotplug path.

No device name reservation will happen anymore; this model creates
too many problems for setups with many device changes or media which
is booted on different hardware.

Enumerated device names which are based on device discovery order or
on persistent on-disk name reservation will in general not be supported
by udev in the future. It is a problem that can not be solved properly,
and it always creates new problems at the same time it tries to solve
the original one. Udev will no longer pretend it can solve these issues,
and people should switch to available alternatives which provide the
far better compromise.

From now on, udev will only create /dev/cdrom for the first optical
drive, and if the drive is capable /dev/dvd. No other devices will
get any compatibility symlinks or enumerated device names like cdrom1,
cdrom2, and so on. The /dev/cdrom and /dev/dvd links have by default
a negative link priority, which will cause them to be overwritten by
any other device which clains the same names with already existing
udev rules.

If stable device names are needed, the /dev/disk/by-id/ links, which
uniquely identify a specific piece of hardware should be used. The links
usually contain a device serial number and the link names will not depend
on device discovery order.

If completely identical devices with identical or no serial number
need to be handled at the same time, the /dev/disk/by-path/ links can
be used. These links depend on the physical port which is used to connect
the device. It will change when the same device is moved to a different
port or host adapter.

If custom names are needed, custom udev rules which match on specific
device properties need to be added by the administrator.

7 years agoconfigure: show ROOTPREFIX in firmware path option help text
Kay Sievers [Mon, 30 Jan 2012 13:53:28 +0000 (14:53 +0100)]
configure: show ROOTPREFIX in firmware path option help text

7 years agorelease 180 180
Kay Sievers [Sun, 29 Jan 2012 04:53:06 +0000 (05:53 +0100)]
release 180

7 years agodo not stop rule processing when device node is no longer around
Kay Sievers [Sun, 29 Jan 2012 04:37:39 +0000 (05:37 +0100)]
do not stop rule processing when device node is no longer around

Device nodes might have been deleted again by the kernel before an
'add' or 'change' event is even started. We need to run all rules,
regardless of the state in /dev.

8 years agobuiltin: blkid - add missing ID_ prefix for PART_ENTRY_* keys
Kay Sievers [Thu, 26 Jan 2012 16:56:18 +0000 (17:56 +0100)]
builtin: blkid - add missing ID_ prefix for PART_ENTRY_* keys

8 years agobuild-sys: we need to install shipped man pages without xsltproc installed
Kay Sievers [Wed, 25 Jan 2012 15:54:24 +0000 (16:54 +0100)]
build-sys: we need to install shipped man pages without xsltproc installed

8 years agoMakefile: update kernel.org hooks
Kay Sievers [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 23:11:21 +0000 (00:11 +0100)]
Makefile: update kernel.org hooks

8 years agorelease 179 179
Kay Sievers [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 23:01:24 +0000 (00:01 +0100)]
release 179

8 years agofix path to extras
Kay Sievers [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 14:12:46 +0000 (15:12 +0100)]
fix path to extras

8 years agouse sysname() for devices without a device node
Kay Sievers [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 03:29:59 +0000 (04:29 +0100)]
use sysname() for devices without a device node

8 years agobuild-sys: enable everything for 'make distcheck'
Kay Sievers [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 02:20:46 +0000 (03:20 +0100)]
build-sys: enable everything for 'make distcheck'

8 years agoupdate TODO
Kay Sievers [Mon, 23 Jan 2012 15:15:20 +0000 (16:15 +0100)]
update TODO

8 years agomove variable inside condition
Kay Sievers [Mon, 23 Jan 2012 04:21:13 +0000 (05:21 +0100)]
move variable inside condition

8 years agoprint warning when rules try to rename kernel device nodes
Kay Sievers [Mon, 23 Jan 2012 04:00:59 +0000 (05:00 +0100)]
print warning when rules try to rename kernel device nodes

8 years agouse devnode() for $name not sysname(), device nodes might be in a subdirectory
Kay Sievers [Mon, 23 Jan 2012 03:44:35 +0000 (04:44 +0100)]
use devnode() for $name not sysname(), device nodes might be in a subdirectory

8 years agofix some fallout from tab removal
Kay Sievers [Sun, 22 Jan 2012 21:44:13 +0000 (22:44 +0100)]
fix some fallout from tab removal

8 years agorelease 178 178
Kay Sievers [Sat, 21 Jan 2012 05:35:06 +0000 (06:35 +0100)]
release 178

8 years agolibudev: do not set DEVNAME= twice
Kay Sievers [Sat, 21 Jan 2012 05:00:17 +0000 (06:00 +0100)]
libudev: do not set DEVNAME= twice

When we read the 'uevent' file we need to make sure, that we do not
read the relative DEVNAME= path provided by the kernel and overwrite
the absolute path udev expects here.

8 years agowarn about deprecated RUN+="socket:" use
Kay Sievers [Sat, 21 Jan 2012 02:07:32 +0000 (03:07 +0100)]
warn about deprecated RUN+="socket:" use

8 years agorules: rtc - point /dev/rtc symlink to 'hctosys' device
Kay Sievers [Sat, 21 Jan 2012 01:56:32 +0000 (02:56 +0100)]
rules: rtc - point /dev/rtc symlink to 'hctosys' device

8 years agoMakefile: switch from .asc to .sign
Kay Sievers [Wed, 18 Jan 2012 13:47:07 +0000 (14:47 +0100)]
Makefile: switch from .asc to .sign

8 years agokeymap: Add Alienware M14xR1
Martin Pitt [Wed, 18 Jan 2012 11:14:54 +0000 (12:14 +0100)]
keymap: Add Alienware M14xR1

https://launchpad.net/bugs/901513

8 years agokeymap: Fix keyboard brightness keys on Samsung 700Z series
Martin Pitt [Wed, 18 Jan 2012 11:06:58 +0000 (12:06 +0100)]
keymap: Fix keyboard brightness keys on Samsung 700Z series

https://launchpad.net/bugs/902332

8 years agokeymap: Fix eject button on Samsung 700Z series
Martin Pitt [Wed, 18 Jan 2012 11:05:01 +0000 (12:05 +0100)]
keymap: Fix eject button on Samsung 700Z series

https://launchpad.net/bugs/902798

8 years agokeymap: Fix rfkill button on Hewlett-Packard HP ProBook
Martin Pitt [Wed, 18 Jan 2012 10:34:44 +0000 (11:34 +0100)]
keymap: Fix rfkill button on Hewlett-Packard HP ProBook

https://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/914838

8 years agoudevd: kill hanging event processes after 30 seconds
Kay Sievers [Wed, 18 Jan 2012 04:06:18 +0000 (05:06 +0100)]
udevd: kill hanging event processes after 30 seconds

Some broken kernel drivers load firmware synchronously in the module init
path and block modprobe until the firmware request is fulfilled.

The modprobe-generated firmware request is a direct child device of the
device which caused modprobe to run. Child device event are blocked until
the parent device is handled. This dead-locks until the kernel firmware
loading timeout of 60 seconds is reached.

The hanging modprobe event should now time-out and allow the firmware
event to run before the 60 second kernel timeout.

8 years agobuiltin: blkid - add missing ID_ prefix
Kay Sievers [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 14:38:41 +0000 (15:38 +0100)]
builtin: blkid - add missing ID_ prefix

<ridikulus_rat>  60-persistent-storage.rules gpt by-partlabel/by-partuuid
  symlinks not created in udev-177 util-linux-2.20.1 kmod-3 in Archlinux x86_64.
<falconindy> ridikulus_rat: fix the rule, or fix the blkid builtin ;)
<kay> oh, i missed the ID_ stuff? :)

8 years agoMakefile: update kernel.org doc hooks for kup
Kay Sievers [Thu, 12 Jan 2012 15:30:12 +0000 (16:30 +0100)]
Makefile: update kernel.org doc hooks for kup

8 years agogudev: several minor introspection fixes
Evan Nemerson [Thu, 12 Jan 2012 07:42:22 +0000 (23:42 -0800)]
gudev: several minor introspection fixes

  - Include exported package information
  - Include C include information
  - g_udev_device_get_parent & g_udev_device_get_parent_with_subsystem
    transfer ownership of their return values

Signed-off-by: Martin Pitt <martin.pitt@ubuntu.com>
8 years agorelease 177 177
Kay Sievers [Thu, 12 Jan 2012 04:31:45 +0000 (05:31 +0100)]
release 177

8 years agorule_generator: use += for dist_udevhome_DATA
Kay Sievers [Thu, 12 Jan 2012 04:28:43 +0000 (05:28 +0100)]
rule_generator: use += for dist_udevhome_DATA

8 years agorule_generator: fix to install rules in rules.d/
Kay Sievers [Thu, 12 Jan 2012 04:10:34 +0000 (05:10 +0100)]
rule_generator: fix to install rules in rules.d/

8 years agoMakefile: update kernel.org sign and upload hook
Kay Sievers [Wed, 11 Jan 2012 23:18:41 +0000 (00:18 +0100)]
Makefile: update kernel.org sign and upload hook

8 years agorelease 176 176
Kay Sievers [Wed, 11 Jan 2012 20:50:29 +0000 (21:50 +0100)]
release 176

8 years agoman: mention that no daemons should be started by udev
Kay Sievers [Wed, 11 Jan 2012 20:49:25 +0000 (21:49 +0100)]
man: mention that no daemons should be started by udev

8 years agofix compiler warning
Kay Sievers [Tue, 10 Jan 2012 18:37:41 +0000 (19:37 +0100)]
fix compiler warning

8 years agocdrom_id: int -> bool
Kay Sievers [Tue, 10 Jan 2012 15:37:41 +0000 (16:37 +0100)]
cdrom_id: int -> bool

8 years agoadd .vimrc
Kay Sievers [Tue, 10 Jan 2012 04:51:47 +0000 (05:51 +0100)]
add .vimrc

8 years agofix debug message
Kay Sievers [Tue, 10 Jan 2012 01:06:36 +0000 (02:06 +0100)]
fix debug message

8 years agoautogen.sh: makedev() misteriously breaks with -O0 here, use -O1 for now
Kay Sievers [Tue, 10 Jan 2012 01:05:08 +0000 (02:05 +0100)]
autogen.sh: makedev() misteriously breaks with -O0 here, use -O1 for now

-O0
  [pid 693] mknod("udev-root/sda", 034101566300) = -1 EINVAL (Invalid argument)

-O1
[pid 8087] mknod("udev-root/sda", S_IFBLK, makedev(8, 0)) = 0

8 years agotabs are as useful as a hole in the head
Kay Sievers [Tue, 10 Jan 2012 00:34:15 +0000 (01:34 +0100)]
tabs are as useful as a hole in the head

8 years agoadd test/src to .gitignore
Kay Sievers [Mon, 9 Jan 2012 22:47:00 +0000 (23:47 +0100)]
add test/src to .gitignore

8 years agobuild-sys: try to build without installed xsltproc
Kay Sievers [Mon, 9 Jan 2012 22:44:47 +0000 (23:44 +0100)]
build-sys: try to build without installed xsltproc

8 years agoautogen.sh: add CFLAGS and print entire line, so that mouse copy/paste works
Kay Sievers [Mon, 9 Jan 2012 22:17:56 +0000 (23:17 +0100)]
autogen.sh: add CFLAGS and print entire line, so that mouse copy/paste works

8 years agobuiltin: kmod - log if modules are blacklisted
Lucas De Marchi [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 19:45:24 +0000 (17:45 -0200)]
builtin: kmod - log if modules are blacklisted

8 years agodoc: fix out of tree build (copy from libkmod)
Kay Sievers [Mon, 9 Jan 2012 16:38:29 +0000 (17:38 +0100)]
doc: fix out of tree build (copy from libkmod)

8 years agorules: delete arch specific rules
Kay Sievers [Mon, 9 Jan 2012 15:00:00 +0000 (16:00 +0100)]
rules: delete arch specific rules

8 years agoreplace unpacked sysfs test tree 'test/sys/' with packed tarball
Kay Sievers [Fri, 6 Jan 2012 13:34:40 +0000 (14:34 +0100)]
replace unpacked sysfs test tree 'test/sys/' with packed tarball

8 years agomerge udev/, libudev/, systemd/ files in src/; move extras/ to src/
Kay Sievers [Thu, 5 Jan 2012 21:41:45 +0000 (22:41 +0100)]
merge udev/, libudev/, systemd/ files in src/; move extras/ to src/

8 years agoautogen.sh: enable git pre-commit
Kay Sievers [Thu, 5 Jan 2012 18:22:03 +0000 (19:22 +0100)]
autogen.sh: enable git pre-commit

8 years agobuild-sys: use --libexecdir=/usr/lib instead of /usr/lib/udev
Kay Sievers [Thu, 5 Jan 2012 18:13:41 +0000 (19:13 +0100)]
build-sys: use --libexecdir=/usr/lib instead of /usr/lib/udev

8 years agorequire kmod >= 3
Kay Sievers [Thu, 5 Jan 2012 14:23:49 +0000 (15:23 +0100)]
require kmod >= 3

8 years agobuild-sys: use use ${ac_default_prefix}
Kay Sievers [Thu, 5 Jan 2012 03:17:13 +0000 (04:17 +0100)]
build-sys: use use ${ac_default_prefix}

8 years agohwdb: drop useless line freeing
Mike Frysinger [Mon, 2 Jan 2012 21:00:57 +0000 (16:00 -0500)]
hwdb: drop useless line freeing

getline() takes care of extending the buffer as needed, so no point in
constantly freeing it before every call.

8 years agobuiltin: kmod - hook up kmod_validate_resources()
Kay Sievers [Mon, 2 Jan 2012 11:38:50 +0000 (12:38 +0100)]
builtin: kmod - hook up kmod_validate_resources()

8 years agoremove mknod() logic and rely on 'devtmpfs'
Kay Sievers [Sun, 1 Jan 2012 03:21:15 +0000 (04:21 +0100)]
remove mknod() logic and rely on 'devtmpfs'

8 years agosystemd: rename PassCred= to PsssCredentials=
Kay Sievers [Sun, 1 Jan 2012 03:00:16 +0000 (04:00 +0100)]
systemd: rename PassCred= to PsssCredentials=

8 years agoupdate README
Kay Sievers [Wed, 28 Dec 2011 18:03:43 +0000 (19:03 +0100)]
update README

8 years agoudevd: remove TIMEOUT= handling
Kay Sievers [Wed, 28 Dec 2011 00:06:55 +0000 (01:06 +0100)]
udevd: remove TIMEOUT= handling

  http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.linux.hotplug.devel/17206/focus=17211

8 years agobuiltin: kmod - switch to kmod_module_probe_insert_module()
Kay Sievers [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 19:17:39 +0000 (20:17 +0100)]
builtin: kmod - switch to kmod_module_probe_insert_module()

8 years agobuiltin: move usb-db, pci-db to builtins
Kay Sievers [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 16:02:52 +0000 (17:02 +0100)]
builtin: move usb-db, pci-db to builtins

8 years agoudevd: always create runtime dir
Kay Sievers [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 05:14:59 +0000 (06:14 +0100)]
udevd: always create runtime dir

<falconindy> kay: udev no longer makes /run/udev on its own?
<kay> falconindy: added back!

8 years agomove rules dirs to udev context; replace inotify with time-controlled stat()
Kay Sievers [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 02:49:43 +0000 (03:49 +0100)]
move rules dirs to udev context; replace inotify with time-controlled stat()

8 years agoupdate NEWS
Kay Sievers [Sun, 25 Dec 2011 19:48:16 +0000 (20:48 +0100)]
update NEWS

8 years agomake: introduce --with-rootprefix=
Kay Sievers [Sun, 25 Dec 2011 19:41:52 +0000 (20:41 +0100)]
make: introduce --with-rootprefix=

8 years agobuiltin: kmod - hook up udev main logging to libkmod
Kay Sievers [Sun, 25 Dec 2011 17:59:42 +0000 (18:59 +0100)]
builtin: kmod - hook up udev main logging to libkmod

8 years agobuiltin: firmware - add missing file
Kay Sievers [Sun, 25 Dec 2011 17:10:07 +0000 (18:10 +0100)]
builtin: firmware - add missing file

8 years agobuiltin: firmware - move 'firmware' tool to builtins
Kay Sievers [Sun, 25 Dec 2011 16:58:30 +0000 (17:58 +0100)]
builtin: firmware - move 'firmware' tool to builtins

8 years agoupdate NEWS
Kay Sievers [Sun, 25 Dec 2011 15:52:53 +0000 (16:52 +0100)]
update NEWS

8 years agoinvalidate rules and kmod index with 'udevadm control --reload'
Kay Sievers [Sun, 25 Dec 2011 15:37:15 +0000 (16:37 +0100)]
invalidate rules and kmod index with 'udevadm control --reload'

  - rename --reload-rules to --reload
  - invalidate rules and databases only, delay parsing to the next event
  - enable debug output for test-builtin

8 years agobuiltin: rename load()/unload() to init()/exit()
Kay Sievers [Sat, 24 Dec 2011 16:58:52 +0000 (17:58 +0100)]
builtin: rename load()/unload() to init()/exit()

8 years agobuiltin: kmod - reload index when rules are reloaded
Kay Sievers [Sat, 24 Dec 2011 02:51:05 +0000 (03:51 +0100)]
builtin: kmod - reload index when rules are reloaded

8 years agoadd copyright
Kay Sievers [Fri, 23 Dec 2011 17:30:29 +0000 (18:30 +0100)]
add copyright

8 years agobuiltin: kmod - link against libkmod
Kay Sievers [Fri, 23 Dec 2011 17:19:18 +0000 (18:19 +0100)]
builtin: kmod - link against libkmod

8 years agoautogen.sh: moce CFLAGS from to configure.ac; print common ./configure options
Kay Sievers [Fri, 23 Dec 2011 12:38:46 +0000 (13:38 +0100)]
autogen.sh: moce CFLAGS from to configure.ac; print common ./configure options

8 years agoupdate NEWS
Kay Sievers [Fri, 23 Dec 2011 12:37:48 +0000 (13:37 +0100)]
update NEWS

8 years agoremove last sbindir use
Kay Sievers [Fri, 23 Dec 2011 04:18:43 +0000 (05:18 +0100)]
remove last sbindir use

8 years agobuiltin: apply format string
Kay Sievers [Fri, 23 Dec 2011 04:12:34 +0000 (05:12 +0100)]
builtin: apply format string

8 years agorules: do not preprocess 80-drivers.rules + 75-probe_mtd.rules
Kay Sievers [Fri, 23 Dec 2011 03:54:08 +0000 (04:54 +0100)]
rules: do not preprocess 80-drivers.rules + 75-probe_mtd.rules

8 years agobuiltin: kmod - switch modprobe to builtin
Kay Sievers [Fri, 23 Dec 2011 03:50:33 +0000 (04:50 +0100)]
builtin: kmod - switch modprobe to builtin

8 years agobuiltin: blkid - add missing ID_FS_USAGE
Kay Sievers [Fri, 23 Dec 2011 03:06:34 +0000 (04:06 +0100)]
builtin: blkid - add missing ID_FS_USAGE

8 years agobuiltin: blkid - add missing newline
Kay Sievers [Fri, 23 Dec 2011 02:40:31 +0000 (03:40 +0100)]
builtin: blkid - add missing newline

8 years agobuildsys: disable tar.gz
Kay Sievers [Fri, 23 Dec 2011 02:30:02 +0000 (03:30 +0100)]
buildsys: disable tar.gz

8 years agorules: do not preprocess 60-persistent-storage.rules
Kay Sievers [Fri, 23 Dec 2011 02:23:37 +0000 (03:23 +0100)]
rules: do not preprocess 60-persistent-storage.rules

8 years agorules: switch to built-in blkid
Kay Sievers [Fri, 23 Dec 2011 02:21:53 +0000 (03:21 +0100)]
rules: switch to built-in blkid

8 years agoupdate blkid builtin
Kay Sievers [Fri, 23 Dec 2011 02:16:56 +0000 (03:16 +0100)]
update blkid builtin

8 years agobuild argv[] for builtin commands
Kay Sievers [Fri, 23 Dec 2011 01:02:44 +0000 (02:02 +0100)]
build argv[] for builtin commands

8 years ago[PATCH[ udev: ata_id: Fix length of INQUIRY command
Alan Stern [Thu, 22 Dec 2011 21:12:30 +0000 (16:12 -0500)]
[PATCH[ udev: ata_id: Fix length of INQUIRY command

SCSI INQUIRY commands are 6 bytes long, not 12 bytes.

8 years agoadd builtin load/unload initializers
Kay Sievers [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 22:10:56 +0000 (23:10 +0100)]
add builtin load/unload initializers

8 years agoprepare builtins for blkid and kmod
Kay Sievers [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 21:30:48 +0000 (22:30 +0100)]
prepare builtins for blkid and kmod

8 years agoSwitch spawn_read to void and remove useless stores there.
Luis Felipe Strano Moraes [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 19:47:51 +0000 (11:47 -0800)]
Switch spawn_read to void and remove useless stores there.

The return value was never used and even if errors were found inside spawn_wait should still be called.

8 years agomake: do not (mis-)use the config file generator, create .xz tarball
Kay Sievers [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 14:27:27 +0000 (15:27 +0100)]
make: do not (mis-)use the config file generator, create .xz tarball

8 years agoman: spelling fix
Ville Skyttä [Tue, 20 Dec 2011 22:50:01 +0000 (23:50 +0100)]
man: spelling fix

8 years agoconfigure: fix typo
Kay Sievers [Wed, 14 Dec 2011 22:29:48 +0000 (23:29 +0100)]
configure: fix typo

<mgorny> kay: btw you've got         sbindir:                ${bindir}
<mgorny> in configure check result printing
<mgorny> I think that's a typo
<kay> oh

8 years agouse libexecdir, bindir, sbindir, switch to /usr/lib/udev in documentation
Kay Sievers [Thu, 1 Dec 2011 11:17:22 +0000 (12:17 +0100)]
use libexecdir, bindir, sbindir, switch to /usr/lib/udev in documentation