chiark / gitweb /
man: use the escape for "-" in example instead of space.
authorMichael Marineau <michael.marineau@coreos.com>
Mon, 15 Sep 2014 21:07:39 +0000 (14:07 -0700)
committerDavid Herrmann <dh.herrmann@gmail.com>
Thu, 18 Sep 2014 13:38:00 +0000 (15:38 +0200)
This sentence can be misread to mean that "\x20" is the escape code for
"-" which is the only character explicitly mentioned. This lead to at
least one user loosing hair over why a mount unit for "/foo/bar-baz"
didn't work. The example escape is arbitrary so lets prevent hair loss.

man/systemd.unit.xml

index 6ea552e..67d46ed 100644 (file)
                 result is usable as part of a filename. Basically,
                 given a path, "/" is replaced by "-", and all
                 unprintable characters and the "-" are replaced by
-                C-style "\x20" escapes. The root directory "/" is
+                C-style "\x2d" escapes. The root directory "/" is
                 encoded as single dash, while otherwise the initial
                 and ending "/" is removed from all paths during
                 transformation. This escaping is reversible.</para>