chiark / gitweb /
man: document that ExecStartPre= is not the place to start long-running processes
authorLennart Poettering <lennart@poettering.net>
Mon, 9 Mar 2015 17:01:47 +0000 (18:01 +0100)
committerLennart Poettering <lennart@poettering.net>
Mon, 9 Mar 2015 17:02:23 +0000 (18:02 +0100)
man/systemd.service.xml

index c03b4e8..f598705 100644 (file)
         <para>If any of those commands (not prefixed with
         <literal>-</literal>) fail, the rest are not executed and the
         unit is considered failed.</para>
+
+        <para>Note that <varname>ExecStartPre=</varname> may not be
+        used to start long-running processes. All processes forked
+        off by processes invoked via <varname>ExecStartPre=</varname> will
+        be killed before the next service process is run.</para>
         </listitem>
       </varlistentry>