chiark / gitweb /
core/namespace: fix path sorting
authorMichal Schmidt <mschmidt@redhat.com>
Mon, 16 Mar 2015 21:04:21 +0000 (22:04 +0100)
committerMichal Schmidt <mschmidt@redhat.com>
Mon, 16 Mar 2015 21:17:15 +0000 (22:17 +0100)
The comparison function we use for qsorting paths is overly indifferent.
Consider these 3 paths for sorting:
 /foo
 /bar
 /foo/foo
qsort() may compare:
 "/foo" with "/bar" => 0, indifference
 "/bar" with "/foo/foo" => 0, indifference
and assume transitively that "/foo" and "/foo/foo" are also indifferent.

But this is wrong, we want "/foo" sorted before "/foo/foo".
The comparison function must be transitive.

Use path_compare(), which behaves properly.

Fixes: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1184016

src/core/namespace.c

index 4a412a2..f8a2bbc 100644 (file)
@@ -83,9 +83,11 @@ static int append_mounts(BindMount **p, char **strv, MountMode mode) {
 
 static int mount_path_compare(const void *a, const void *b) {
         const BindMount *p = a, *q = b;
+        int d;
 
-        if (path_equal(p->path, q->path)) {
+        d = path_compare(p->path, q->path);
 
+        if (!d) {
                 /* If the paths are equal, check the mode */
                 if (p->mode < q->mode)
                         return -1;
@@ -97,13 +99,7 @@ static int mount_path_compare(const void *a, const void *b) {
         }
 
         /* If the paths are not equal, then order prefixes first */
-        if (path_startswith(p->path, q->path))
-                return 1;
-
-        if (path_startswith(q->path, p->path))
-                return -1;
-
-        return 0;
+        return d;
 }
 
 static void drop_duplicates(BindMount *m, unsigned *n) {