chiark / gitweb /
rules: Add symlink rule for virtio ports
authorAmit Shah <amit.shah@redhat.com>
Thu, 21 Jan 2010 13:15:04 +0000 (18:45 +0530)
committerKay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org>
Thu, 21 Jan 2010 13:21:42 +0000 (14:21 +0100)
virtio ports spawned by the virtio_console.c driver can have 'names'
assigned to them by hosts. The ports are distinguishable using these
names. Make a rule to create a symlink to the chardev associated for a
port with a name.

The symlink created is:
    /dev/virtio-ports/org.libvirt.console0 -> /dev/vport0p0

if the first port for the first device was given a name of
'org.libvirt.console0'.

Signed-off-by: Amit Shah <amit.shah@redhat.com>
rules/rules.d/50-udev-default.rules

index 374db50..f8556d1 100644 (file)
@@ -17,6 +17,9 @@ KERNEL=="ppp",                        MODE="0600"
 KERNEL=="mwave",               GROUP="dialout"
 KERNEL=="hvc*|hvsi*",          GROUP="dialout"
 
+# virtio serial / console ports
+KERNEL=="vport*", SYMLINK+="virtio-ports/$ATTR{name}"
+
 # mem
 KERNEL=="null|zero|full|random|urandom", MODE="0666"
 KERNEL=="mem|kmem|port|nvram", GROUP="kmem", MODE="0640"