chiark / gitweb /
build-sys: add check for --help width
authorZbigniew Jędrzejewski-Szmek <zbyszek@in.waw.pl>
Wed, 28 Jan 2015 02:22:26 +0000 (21:22 -0500)
committerZbigniew Jędrzejewski-Szmek <zbyszek@in.waw.pl>
Wed, 28 Jan 2015 02:48:12 +0000 (21:48 -0500)
Makefile.am
TODO

index f42f132..620b4d2 100644 (file)
@@ -6556,7 +6556,7 @@ endif
 #
 # Require python when making dist
 #
-.PHONY: dist-check-python
+.PHONY: dist-check-python dist-check-compat-libs dist-check-help
 dist-check-python:
 if !HAVE_PYTHON
        @echo "*** python and python-lxml module must be installed and enabled in order to make dist"
@@ -6569,6 +6569,14 @@ if !ENABLE_COMPAT_LIBS
        @false
 endif
 
+dist-check-help: $(rootbin_PROGRAMS) $(bin_PROGRAMS)
+       for i in $(abspath $^); do                                             \
+            if $$i  --help | grep -v 'default:' | grep -E -q '.{80}.' ; then   \
+               echo "$(basename $$i) --help output is too wide:";             \
+               $$i  --help | awk 'length > 80' | grep -E --color=yes '.{80}'; \
+               exit 1;                                                        \
+            fi; done
+
 dist: dist-check-python dist-check-compat-libs
 
 # check "broken" platforms limited toolchains for link breakage before we release
diff --git a/TODO b/TODO
index d3b4b1d..7f5db20 100644 (file)
--- a/TODO
+++ b/TODO
@@ -31,10 +31,6 @@ External:
 
 Features:
 
-* add test targets to Makefile that runs all our tools with "--help"
-  and checks if the output is identical to the output when passed
-  through "fold -w 79".
-
 * nspawn: emulate /dev/kmsg using CUSE and turn off the syslog syscall
   with seccomp. That should provide us with a useful log buffer that
   systemd can log to during early boot, and disconnect container logs