chiark / gitweb /
bootchart: Remove unneeded check for NULL
authorStefan Beller <stefanbeller@googlemail.com>
Sun, 29 Dec 2013 23:09:56 +0000 (00:09 +0100)
committerKay Sievers <kay@vrfy.org>
Mon, 30 Dec 2013 18:10:22 +0000 (19:10 +0100)
Directly before the changed line there is:

while ((parent->next_ps && parent->pid != ps->ppid))
parent = parent->next_ps;

which looks one element ahead of the list, hence we can rely on parent
being non null here.
If 'parent' were NULL at that while loop already, it would crash as we're
dereferencing 'parent' when checking for next_ps already.

Signed-off-by: Stefan Beller <stefanbeller@googlemail.com>
src/bootchart/store.c

index 7f86cfe..b6ba113 100644 (file)
@@ -345,7 +345,7 @@ schedstat_next:
                         while ((parent->next_ps && parent->pid != ps->ppid))
                                 parent = parent->next_ps;
 
-                        if ((!parent) || (parent->pid != ps->ppid)) {
+                        if (parent->pid != ps->ppid) {
                                 /* orphan */
                                 ps->ppid = 1;
                                 parent = ps_first->next_ps;