chiark / gitweb /
udev: allow firmware requests to bypass the dependency tracking
authorKay Sievers <kay@vrfy.org>
Sun, 7 Oct 2012 16:21:38 +0000 (18:21 +0200)
committerKay Sievers <kay@vrfy.org>
Sun, 7 Oct 2012 16:22:14 +0000 (18:22 +0200)
commitea6039a30929ff845859ed601594546d71894d84
tree02178513e502e544bf88dcec2c477e7ac394c496
parent1a3f40f912670d3dea3811a4560b368412090b81
udev: allow firmware requests to bypass the dependency tracking

The removal of the TIMEOUT= handling in udevd put firmware requests into the
devpath parent/child dependency tracking. Drivers which block in module_init()
asking userspace for firmware ran into a 30 sec device timeout.

The whole firmware loading willl hopefully move into the kernel and
the fragile-since-day-one fake async driver-core device dance involving
udev can be retired:
  http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux.git;a=commit;h=abb139e75c2cdbb955e840d6331cb5863e409d0e
src/udev/udevd.c