chiark / gitweb /
dgit-maint-{merge,debrebase}(7): Use git fetch --tags upstream
authorSean Whitton <spwhitton@spwhitton.name>
Sat, 7 Sep 2019 16:32:21 +0000 (09:32 -0700)
committerIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Sun, 8 Sep 2019 17:49:11 +0000 (18:49 +0100)
We recommend using a remote called 'upstream' and so we can recommend
a command which will be faster and less likely to error out.

Closes: #939679
Suggested-by: Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Sean Whitton <spwhitton@spwhitton.name>
dgit-maint-debrebase.7.pod
dgit-maint-merge.7.pod

index 27c97aa..4a0b5a5 100644 (file)
@@ -353,7 +353,7 @@ release, and importing that release using git-debrebase(1).
 
 =over 4
 
-    % git fetch --all --tags
+    % git fetch --tags upstream
 
 =back
 
index 37a0261..19950d4 100644 (file)
@@ -362,7 +362,7 @@ to git), you can just run dpkg-buildpackage(1) or debuild(1) instead.
 
 =over 4
 
-    % git fetch --all --tags
+    % git fetch --tags upstream
 
 =back