chiark / gitweb /
dgit-maint-{merge,debrebase}(7): Suggest --name-status --diff-filter
authorSean Whitton <spwhitton@spwhitton.name>
Sun, 23 Jun 2019 15:31:02 +0000 (16:31 +0100)
committerIan Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
Mon, 1 Jul 2019 12:21:37 +0000 (13:21 +0100)
This is better than just --stat for finding new and deleted files in a
new upstream release, which may need accounting for in d/copyright.

Closes: #930956
Signed-off-by: Sean Whitton <spwhitton@spwhitton.name>
dgit-maint-debrebase.7.pod
dgit-maint-merge.7.pod

index b91ed16..6ffa230 100644 (file)
@@ -375,9 +375,10 @@ release:
 
 =back
 
-Pass I<--stat> just to see the list of changed files, which is useful
-to determine whether there are any new or deleted files that may need
-accounting for in your copyright file.
+Additionally pass I<--name-status> and I<--diff-filter=ADR> to see
+just the list of added or removed files, which is useful to determine
+whether there are any new or deleted files that may need accounting
+for in your copyright file.
 
 If you obtained a tarball from upstream, you are ready to try a build.
 If you merged a git tag from upstream, you will first need to generate
index c20a252..31b0393 100644 (file)
@@ -371,7 +371,7 @@ accounting for in your copyright file:
 
 =over 4
 
-    % git diff --stat master..1.2.3 -- . ':!debian'
+    % git diff --name-status --diff-filter=ADR master..1.2.3 -- . ':!debian'
 
 =back